Jonny Lang Premieres New Song, "Bitter End"

(Image credit: Daniella Hovsepian)

As we announced back in May, Jonny Lang will release a new studio album, Signs, September 8 via Concord Records. The album—Lang's sixth major-label release—is his first in four years.

Today, presents the exclusive premiere of one of the album's many highlights, a guitar-heavy song called "Bitter End." You can check it out below.

“'Bitter End' is about humanity continuing to repeat the same mistakes over and over," Lang told us. "Are we just going to keep doing that until we're all gone? Or are we going to learn from them and allow for it to be a lesson that lasts, which we can do something with, and turn the past errors into a positive before we end up in a place we can’t come back from?”

Signs, which features elements of funk, rock and blues, is held together by Lang’s distinctive playing and singing—and the lyrics, which focus on themes of battles and self-empowerment.

“Some of the songs are autobiographical, but not usually in a literal way,” Lang says. “The main goal is for folks to be able to relate to what I went through. If I can’t make it work using just my personal experience, I use my imagination to fill in blanks.”

For more about Lang and the new album, And while you're at it, check out "Make It Move," another new song from Signs.

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month**

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Damian Fanelli
Editor-in-Chief, Guitar World

Damian is Editor-in-Chief of Guitar World magazine. In past lives, he was GW’s managing editor and online managing editor. He's written liner notes for major-label releases, including Stevie Ray Vaughan's 'The Complete Epic Recordings Collection' (Sony Legacy) and has interviewed everyone from Yngwie Malmsteen to Kevin Bacon (with a few memorable Eric Clapton chats thrown into the mix). Damian, a former member of Brooklyn's The Gas House Gorillas, was the sole guitarist in Mister Neutron, a trio that toured the U.S. and released three albums. He now plays in two NYC-area bands.