The Old 97's to Release New Album, 'Most Messed Up,' April 29

The Old 97's will release their new album, Most Messed Up, April 29 via ATO.

The album, which was recorded in Austin and produced by Salim Nourallah, features guest appearances by Tommy Stinson (the Replacements, Guns N' Roses) and Jon Rauhouse (Neko Case) on lap steel.

Most Messed Up, which has been called a rock opera of sorts, is a revealing, 12-track meditation on 20 years in music that finds the band at their raucous, boozy best.

Titles like "Wasted," "Intervention," "Wheels Off," "Let's Get Drunk & Get It On" and "Most Messed Up" hint at the kind of narrators frontman Rhett Miller likes to inhabit, guys who possess an appetite for indulgence and won't let a few bad decisions get in the way of a good story.

"There's a lot of darkness hidden in this record," Miller says. In terms of working with Stinson (Check out the video below!), Miller adds: “Having him in the equation just added an element of wheels-off insanity, you know, true rock and roll."

The Old 97's emerged from Dallas 20 years ago at the forefront of a musical movement blending rootsy, country-influenced songwriting with punk rock energy. Most Messed Up follows their recent two-volume set, The Grand Theatre, and their 2013 EP, Old 97's & Waylon Jennings.

Old 97's kick off a headlining tour this weekend. Head HERE for a full list of dates. For more about the band, and to pre-order the album, visit

Most Messed Up Tracklist:

  • 01. "Longer Than You've Been Alive"
  • 02. "Give It Time"
  • 03. "Let's Get Drunk & Get It On"
  • 04. "This Is The Ballad"
  • 05. "Wheels Off"
  • 06. "Nashville"
  • 07. "Wasted"
  • 08. "Guadalajara"
  • 09. "The Disconnect"
  • 10. "The Ex Of All You See"
  • 11. "Intervention"
  • 12. "Most Messed Up"

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month**

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Damian Fanelli
Editor-in-Chief, Guitar World

Damian is Editor-in-Chief of Guitar World magazine. In past lives, he was GW’s managing editor and online managing editor. He's written liner notes for major-label releases, including Stevie Ray Vaughan's 'The Complete Epic Recordings Collection' (Sony Legacy) and has interviewed everyone from Yngwie Malmsteen to Kevin Bacon (with a few memorable Eric Clapton chats thrown into the mix). Damian, a former member of Brooklyn's The Gas House Gorillas, was the sole guitarist in Mister Neutron, a trio that toured the U.S. and released three albums. He now plays in two NYC-area bands.