Audio Interview: Flotsam and Jetsam Guitarist Michael Gilbert Talks New Album, 'Ugly Noise,' Songwriting and Gear

Influential Phoenix-based speed/thrash metal band Flotsam and Jetsam returned to Metal Blade Records for the release of their 11th studio album, Ugly Noise, which came out April 16 in the US.

The album features the return of original members Michael Gilbert on guitar and Kelly David Smith on drums.

I spoke to singer Eric "A.K." Knutson about what it's like having these guys back in the band. You can check out that interview right here. I followed up by speaking to Gilbert, who discussed songwriting, gear and more. Listen to our 13-minute conversation below, and visit the band here for more info.

Andrew Bansal is a writer who has been running his own website, Metal Assault, since early 2010, and has been prolific in covering the hard rock and heavy metal scene by posting interviews, news, reviews and pictures on his website — with the help of a small group of people. He briefly moved away from the Los Angeles scene and explored metal in India, but he is now back in LA continuing from where he left off.

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month**

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49