Review: Ernie Ball Music Man's Jason Richardson 7 String Cutlass is one of the best seven-string guitars available today

(Image credit: Ernie Ball Music Man)

Over the last 20 years, the 7-string guitar transitioned from a novelty to a new norm embraced by dozens of the electric guitar world’s most talented and innovative virtuosos. Jason Richardson, formerly of Born of Osiris and Chelsea Grin, and now a solo artist and member of All That Remains, is one of the most impressive seven-string specialists to come along over the last decade, so it makes perfect sense that he caught Ernie Ball Music Man’s attention and was invited to join the company’s esteemed roster of signature model collaborators.

Whereas most previous Music Man signature models from the Albert Lee and Steve Morse to the Valentine and St. Vincent featured entirely new designs, the Ernie Ball Music Man Jason Richardson 7 String Cutlass is part of a new approach for Music Man artist guitars where up-and-coming players are putting their own touches on existing models (like the Hunter Hayes Cutlass and Dustin Kensrue StingRay). 

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month**

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Chris Gill

Chris is the co-author of Eruption - Conversations with Eddie Van Halen. He is a 40-year music industry veteran who started at Boardwalk Entertainment (Joan Jett, Night Ranger) and Roland US before becoming a guitar journalist in 1991. He has interviewed more than 600 artists, written more than 1,400 product reviews and contributed to Jeff Beck’s Beck 01: Hot Rods and Rock & Roll and Eric Clapton’s Six String Stories.