Linking parallel major and minor pentatonic patterns will take your blues playing to the next level - here's how

(Image credit: Al Pereira/WireImage)

An essential tenet of blues guitar soloing is to switch back and forth between parallel minor and major pentatonic scales. A typical 12-bar blues progression consists of three chords, the I (one), the IV (four) and the V (five). In the key of G, the I chord is G (or G7), the IV chord is C(7) and the V chord is D(7). 

The G major scale is spelled G, A, B, C, D, E, F#, and so the fourth note is C, also known as the fourth of G, and the fifth is D. Both G minor pentatonic (G, Bb, C, D, F) and G major pentatonic (G, A, B, D, E) sound great when played over the progression.

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month**

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Andy Aledort

Guitar World Associate Editor Andy Aledort is recognized worldwide for his vast contributions to guitar instruction, via his many best-selling instructional DVDs, transcription books and online lessons. Andy is a regular contributor to Guitar World and Truefire, and has toured with Dickey Betts of the Allman Brothers, as well as participating in several Jimi Hendrix Tribute Tours.