Anthrax Guitarist Scott Ian Announces North American Leg of His “Speaking Words” Tour

Scott Ian has announced the North American leg of his “Speaking Words” tour.

The Anthrax guitarist will pick up the mic again for a 15-city trek that kicks off in Chicago February 20. You can check out all the dates below.

“it ain’t no poetry reading,” said Ian in a statement. “Speaking Words” is an honest look at the insane life Ian has led for the past 31 years, the people he’s met and the events he's witnessed. During each show, he'll take part in a Q&A session with the audience.

“England, Wales, Scotland, Ireland, Australia, Germany. I've been 'Speaking Words' all over the world," Ian said. "My friends in the U.S. and Canada, you asked for it, and now I finally get to bring it home! I'm looking forward to talking with ya, talking at ya and telling you some amazing tales of drunken debauchery and ridiculousness. No punches pulled, no swear word left unturned and no question avoided in the Q&A. Let's do this!”

For information about VIP meet-and-greet sessions for each show, visit Ian's merch store here.

For more about Ian, visit

Confirmed SCOTT IAN “Speaking Words” Dates:

  • 2/20 - Chicago, IL @ Mayne Stage
  • 2/21 - Westland, MI @ The Token Lounge
  • 2/22 - Pittsburgh, PA @ Rex Theatre
  • 2/24 - Cleveland, OH @ Agora Theater
  • 2/25 - Toronto, ON @ El Mocambo Club
  • 2/26 - Kingston, ON @ The Mansion
  • 2/27 - Ottowa, ON @ Ritual
  • 3/01 - Baltimore, MD @ The Ramshead Live: Power Plant Live
  • 3/02 - Philadelphia, PA @ World Cafe Live
  • 3/04 - Boston, MA @ Hard Rock Cafe
  • 3/05 - New York, NY @ BB Kings
  • 3/06 - Syracuse, NY @ Lost Horizon
  • 3/07 - West Warwick, RI @ Manchester 65
  • 3/08 - Portland, ME @ Port City Music Hall

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month**

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Damian Fanelli
Editor-in-Chief, Guitar World

Damian is Editor-in-Chief of Guitar World magazine. In past lives, he was GW’s managing editor and online managing editor. He's written liner notes for major-label releases, including Stevie Ray Vaughan's 'The Complete Epic Recordings Collection' (Sony Legacy) and has interviewed everyone from Yngwie Malmsteen to Kevin Bacon (with a few memorable Eric Clapton chats thrown into the mix). Damian, a former member of Brooklyn's The Gas House Gorillas, was the sole guitarist in Mister Neutron, a trio that toured the U.S. and released three albums. He now plays in two NYC-area bands.