Carcass announce first album in 8 years, unveil brutal single, Kelly’s Meat Emporium

Guitarist Bill Steer, drummer Daniel Wilding, singer/bassist Jeff Walker and guitarist Tom Draper of Carcass perform during Psycho Las Vegas at the Mandalay Bay Events Center on August 17, 2019 in Las Vegas, Nevada.
(Image credit: Gabe Ginsberg/Getty Images)

Carcass have announced their first album in eight years, Torn Arteries, will be released on September 17 via Nuclear Blast.

Along with the album announcement, the death-metal icons have unveiled its first single, Kelly’s Meat Emporium, a none-more-Carcass cut that foregrounds Bill Steer’s tortuous riffs and penchant for sinister exotic scale runs.

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month**

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Michael Astley-Brown

Mike is Editor-in-Chief of, in addition to being an offset fiend and recovering pedal addict. He has a master's degree in journalism from Cardiff University, and over a decade's experience writing and editing for guitar publications including MusicRadar, Total Guitar and Guitarist, as well as 20 years of recording and live experience in original and function bands. During his career, he has interviewed the likes of John Frusciante, Chris Cornell, Tom Morello, Matt Bellamy, Kirk Hammett, Jerry Cantrell, Joe Satriani, Tom DeLonge, Ed O'Brien, Polyphia, Tosin Abasi, Yvette Young and many more. In his free time, you'll find him making progressive instrumental rock under the nom de plume Maebe.