Skip to main content

Deep Purple Stream New Song, ‘Hell to Pay,’ Release ‘Now What?!’ Artwork

Deep Purple are streaming another new song off their upcoming album, Now What?!, which will be released April 30 in North America by earMUSIC. You can hear the track, "Hell to Pay," below.

They've also released the album's complete track listing and cover artwork, which is shown at left.

"Hell to Pay" and another new song, "All The Time In The World," (which you can hear here) will be released as a single later this month. Of the two new tracks, "Hell to Pay" is closer to Deep Purple's classic sound (or at least their Perfect Strangers-era sound). It also features a killer (and very Deep Purple-sounding) guitar solo by Steve Morse, which kicks off at the 1:41 mark.

The album, which was recorded in Nashville, was produced by Bob Ezrin, who worked on Kiss' Destroyer, Pink Floyd's The Wall and other classic albums. Here's the complete track listing:

  • 01. A Simple Song
  • 02. Weirdistan
  • 03. Out Of Hand
  • 04. Hell To Pay
  • 05. Body Line
  • 06. Above And Beyond
  • 07. Blood From A Stone
  • 08. Uncommon Man
  • 09. Après Vous
  • 10. All The Time In The World
  • 11. Vincent Price

Now What?! is the follow-up to 2005's Rapture of the Deep. The band's current lineup is Ian Paice (drums), Roger Glover (bass), Ian Gillan (vocals), Steve Morse (guitar) and Don Airey (keyboards).

For more information on the band, plus their 2013 tour dates, visit Follow them on Facebook here.

Damian Fanelli

Damian is editor-in-chief of Guitar World magazine. From 1998 to 2014, he was one third of Mister Neutron, an instrumental rock act that toured the universe and elsewhere and released three albums via Austin-based Deep Eddy Records. These days he performs with several New York City-area bands and can often be spotted with one of his many, many, many B-bender-equipped guitars. In past lives he was GW’s managing editor and online managing editor – and he still can’t believe he got to write the liner notes for the latest SRV box set.