Doors Live Triple-CD Announced

AFTER A CONTROVERSIAL incident onstage in Miami shortened the Doors' 1969 tour, the band roared back in 1970 with the astounding Morrison Hotel and followed it up with an inspired tour — the Doors' last with singer Jim Morrison.

Bright Midnight Archives celebrates the beginning of an era's end with a three-disc set that captures the tour's first stop at the Boston Arena on April 10, 1970. Featuring complete recordings of both the early and late shows, The Doors Live in Boston ’70 will be available beginning July 24 at all retail outlets and at and for a suggested retail price of $29.98. It will be available digitally for $24.99. The Doors Live in Boston ’70 can be preordered now at

Featuring more than three hours music and mayhem, Live in Boston finds keyboardist Ray Manzarek, drummer John Densmore and guitarist Robby Krieger at the peak of their powers as Morrison leads them on a booze-fueled romp through "Roadhouse Blues" and "Light My Fire," plus mind-bending journeys for "When the Music's Over" and Elvis Presley's "Mystery Train." Morrison scatters spoken work gems throughout both performances, including a short riff on Adolf Hitler, in which he declares, "Adolf Hilter is still alive—I slept with her last night."

Live in Boston is mixed and mastered by Doors engineer Bruce Botnick, who recorded several shows from the Doors' 1970 tour on multitrack tape for the Absolutely Live album. The superior quality of the original tape reflects Botnick and his team's attention to sonic detail. All but two tracks on this collection are previously unreleased. "These concerts are really interesting and very enjoyable," Botnick writes in the liner notes. "The opening scream going into 'Roadhouse Blues' from the first show is stunning and worth the price of admission."

The liner notes also feature the three surviving members of the Doors recalling that special night in Boston. "A Surgeon General's warning should be stickered on this recording, because Jimbo is ripped!" says Densmore. "But he is so damn passionate and still hits all the cues with the band, so all I can say is, 'En Vino Veritas' [in wine is the truth ]." "What a wild Doors night," adds Manzarek. "We never knew what was going to happen when the shaman went over the edge. And this night is over the edge."

THE DOORS LIVE IN BOSTON ‘70 track listing:

Disc 1: First Show
1. "Start"
2. "All Right, All Right, All Right!"
3. "Roadhouse Moan"
4. "Roadhouse Blues"
5. "Ship of Fools"
6. "Alabama Song (Whisky Bar)"
7. "Back Door Man"
8. "Five to One"
9. "When The Music's Over"
10. "Rock Me"
11. "Mystery Train"
12. "Away in India"
13. "Crossroads"
14. "Prelude to Wake Up!"
15. "Wake Up!"
16. "Light My Fire"

Disc 2: Second Show
1. "Start"
2. "Break on Through"
3. "I Believe in Democracy"
4. "When the Music's Over"
5. "Roadhouse Blues"
6. "The Spy"
7. "Alabama Song (Whisky Bar)"
8. "Back Door Man"
9. "Five to One"
10. "Astrology Rap"
11. "Build Me A Woman"
12. "You Make Me Real"
13. "Wait a Minute!"
14. "Mystery Train"
15. "Away in India"
16. "Crossroads"

Disc 3: Second Show Continued
1. "Band Intros"
2. "Adolf Hitler"
3. "Light My Fire"
4. "Fever"
5. "Summertime"
6. "St. James Infirmary Blues"
7. "Graveyard Poem"
8. "Light My Fire"
9. "More, More, More!"
10. "Ladies and Gentlemen"
11. "We Can't Instigate"
12. "They Want More"
13. "Been Down So Long"
14. "Power Turned Off"

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month**

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Guitar World Editors

Since 1980, Guitar World has brought guitarists the best in-depth interviews with great players, along with exclusive lessons, informative gear reviews and insightful columns that help guitarists grow and excel on their instrument. Whether you want to learn the techniques employed by your guitar heroes, read about their latest projects or simply need to know which guitar is the right one to buy, Guitar World is your guide.