Gary Clark Jr. Announces New Album, 'The Story of Sonny Boy Slim,' Headlining Tour

Gary Clark Jr. has announced his second solo album, The Story of Sonny Boy Slim.

The album, which is set for a September 11 release via Warner Bros., can be pre-ordered right here.

Pre-ordering the album gives you instant downloads of two new album tracks, "The Healing" and "Grinder," both of which you can hear below (bottom videos).

The Story of Sonny Boy Slim was written, produced, arranged by Clark, who also plays most of the instruments, with assistance from his longtime live soundman, Bharath "Cheex" Ramanath, plus and Jason Sciba.

Clark also has announced a fall/spring headlining tour that will take him to venues across the U.S. Every ticket purchased online for this tour will come with a standard digital download of The Story of Sonny Boy Slim. You can check out the tour dates below.

For more about the new album, check out the trailer below.

  • Oct 31 Boston, MA H.O.B.
  • Nov 1 Philadelphia, PA The Fillmore
  • Feb 18 St. Petersburg, FL Jannus Live
  • Feb 19 Miami, FL The Fillmore
  • Feb 20 Lake Buena Vista, FL H.O.B.
  • Feb 21 Ponte Vedra Beach, FL Ponte Vedra Concert Hall
  • Feb 23 Birmingham, AL Iron City
  • Feb 24 Chattanooga, TN Tivoli Theater
  • Feb 26 Nashville, TN Ryman Auditorium
  • Feb 28 St. Louis, MO The Pageant
  • Mar 1 Tulsa, OK Cain's Ballroom
  • Mar 4 Houston, TX Warehouse Live Ballroom
  • Mar 6 Dallas, TX H.O.B.
  • Mar 8 El Paso, TX Tricky Falls
  • Mar 12 Las Vegas, NV Brooklyn Bowl
  • Mar 31 Kansas City, MO Uptown Theater
  • Apr 1 Chicago, IL Riviera Theater
  • Apr 2 Minneapolis, MN First Avenue
  • Apr 3 Omaha, NE Slowdown
  • Apr 5 Denver, CO Ogden Theater
  • Apr 8 Salt Lake City, UT The Depot
  • Apr 9 Boise, ID Knitting Factory
  • Apr 10 Seattle, WA Moore Theater
  • Apr 12 Vancouver, BC Commodore Ballroom
  • Apr 14 Portland, OR Roseland Theater

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month**

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Jackson Maxwell

Jackson is an Associate Editor at He’s been writing and editing stories about new gear, technique and guitar-driven music both old and new since 2014, and has also written extensively on the same topics for Guitar Player. Elsewhere, his album reviews and essays have appeared in Louder and Unrecorded. Though open to music of all kinds, his greatest love has always been indie, and everything that falls under its massive umbrella. To that end, you can find him on Twitter crowing about whatever great new guitar band you need to drop everything to hear right now.