Jimmie Vaughan Premieres First Track from New Album, ‘Baby, Please Come Home’

(Image credit: Gage Skidmore)

Austin guitar great Jimmie Vaughan has released details about his new album — Baby, Please Come Home — which will be available May 17 via the Last Music Co. The disc, a righteous celebration of blues in all its forms, is Vaughan’s first studio release since 2011’s Plays More Blues, Ballads & Favorites and comes hot on the heels of the Jimmie Vaughan Trio's 2017 highly regarded album, Live at C-Boy’s.

Below, you can check out our exclusive premiere of “Be My Lovey Dovey,” the world’s first taste of the new album. 

“I got the song from Etta James,” Vaughan tells us. “I’ve always been a huge fan. The song is complete goo-goo, romantic, love, ridiculous … like in real love.” The track also features a healthy serving of Vaughan’s instantly recognizable six-string phrasing and unadorned Strat tone.

Baby, Please Come Home also packs in covers of songs by guitar greats T-Bone Walker, Clarence “Gatemouth” Brown, Jimmy Reed and Lefty Frizzell, not to mention Lloyd Price, Jimmy Donley, Richard Berry, Chuck Willis, Bill Doggett and Fats Domino. It’s an eclectic mix for sure — but, as Vaughan puts it, “When I was young, I didn't really pay much attention to categories of music. I just heard what I liked and decided to explore that. And that’s really what I’m still doing.”

The bulk of Baby, Please Come Home was recorded in San Marcos, Texas, by Vaughan’s “A team,” including George Rains, Billy Pitman, Ronnie James, Mike Flanigan, Doug James, Greg Piccolo, Al Gomez, Kaz Kazonoff, T. Jarred Bonata, John Mills and Randy Zimmerman. Guest vocalists include Georgia Bramhall and Emily Gimble. 

Vaughan’s just-announced tour dates can be found below. For more information, check out jimmievaughan.com.

Jimmie Vaughan 2019 Tour Dates:

Fri.-Sun., March 15-16-17  AUSTIN, TX  SXSW  C-Boys

Wed., March 27    DALLAS, TX   House of  Blues; with Buddy Guy

Thurs., March 28  AUSTIN, TX   Austin City Limits Live; with Buddy Guy

Sat., March 30  SALT LAKE CITY, UT   The Eccles Theater; with Buddy Guy

Tues., April 2   DENVER, CO The Paramount Theater;  with Buddy Guy

Wed., April 3   SANTA FE, NM   Lensic Performing Arts Center       

Thurs., April 4   TUCSON, AZ    Rialto Theater

Fri., April 5   PHOENIX, AZ  Celebrity Theater; with Buddy Guy

Sat., April 6   INDIAN WELLS, CA   Garden Jam Music Festival; with Buddy Guy

Tues., April 9  SOLANA BEACH, CA  The Belly Up Tavern

Wed., April 10   SIERRA NEVADA, CA  Sierra Nevada Brewing Company

Thurs., April 11  OAKLAND, CA  Yoshi's 

Fri., April 12   STATELINE, NV   MontBleu Resort; with Coco Montoya

Sat., April 13  SANTA CRUZ, CA  Rio Theatre; with Katie Kipp

Mon., May 13,  LONDON, UK Royal Albert Hall supporting Eric Clapton

Wed. May 15, LONDON, UK Royal Albert Hall supporting Eric Clapton

Thurs., May 16, LONDON, UK Royal Albert Hall supporting Eric Clapton

Fri., May 17 LONDON, UK Dingwalls  Album Release Show

Wed., June 19  ATLANTA, GA  City Winery 

Thurs., June 20   FRANKLIN, TN  Franklin Theatre  

Fri., June 21  EDWARDSVILLE, IL   Wildey Theater 

Sat., June 22   BLOOMINGTON, IN  Buskirk-Chumley

Sun., June 23   WESTLAND, MI    The Token Lounge

Wed., June 26   CLEVELAND, OH  Music Box Supper Club

Thurs., June 27   CINCINNATI, OH  Memorial Hall

Fri., June 28   EVANSTON, IL  SPACE

Sat., June 29   ST. CHARLES, IL  Arcada Theater 

Wed., July 10,   BETHLEHEM, PA   MusikFest Cafe 

Thurs., July 11  ARDMORE, PA   Ardmore Music Hall 

Fri., July 12  RIVERHEAD, NY   Suffolk Theater

Sat., July 13   PAWLING, NY   Darryl's Place  

Sun., July 14  EAST GREENWICH, RI  The Greenwich Odeum 

Tues., July 16   BOSTON, MA  City Winery    

Thurs., July 18   LONDONBERRY, NH  Tupelo Music Hall     

Fri., July 19   FAIRFIELD, CT  The Warehouse at FTC    

Wed., Aug. 7, LOS ANGELES, CA Hollywood Bowl with Buddy Guy & Charlie Musselwhite

Tues., Aug. 13, HONOLULU, HI, Blue Note Hawaii

Wed. Aug. 14, HONOLULU, HI, Blue Note Hawaii