Jimmy Herring Announces New Solo Album and US Tour

Guitarist Jimmy Herring will release his second solo album, Subject To Change Without Notice, August 21 through Abstract Logix Records.

Subject To Change Without Notice will feature eight original songs plus covers of Mahavishnu Orchestra’s “Hope," The Beatles' "Within You Without You” and Jimmy McGriff’s “Miss Poopie."

Besides Herring on lead guitar, the album features Neal Fountain, Etienne Mbappe (bass), Jeff Sipe, Tyler Greenwell (drums) and Matt Slocum (piano/keys). The album also features Bela Fleck (banjo), and Bill Evans (sax) and Nicky Sanders of the Steep Canyon Rangers (violin).

Herring, now the lead guitarist for Widespread Panic, has toured the Allman Brothers Band, The Dead and the Derek Trucks Band.

Herring's US tour kicks off August 22 in Colorado. Check out all the dates below:

  • August 22 Aggie Theatre Ft. Collins, CO
  • August 23 Performing Arts Center at Third St Carbondale, CO
  • August 25 NEDFEST 2012 Nederland, CO
  • September 14 Jomeokee Music & Arts Festival Pinnacle, NC
  • September 15 Jomeokee Music & Arts Festival Pinnacle, NC
  • October 20 Magnolia Music Fest Live Oak, FL
  • November 2 Georgia Theatre Athens, GA
  • November 3 Neighborhood Theatre Charlotte, NC
  • November 4 Carolina Theatre Durham, NC
  • November 10 Steel Jam Bethlehem, PA
  • November 16 Capitol Center for the Arts Concord, NH
  • November 17 Buffalo State Performing Arts Center Buffalo, NY
  • November 18 The Egg Hart Theatre Albany, NY

Follow Herring on Facebook here and on his official website.

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month**

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Damian Fanelli
Editor-in-Chief, Guitar World

Damian is Editor-in-Chief of Guitar World magazine. In past lives, he was GW’s managing editor and online managing editor. He's written liner notes for major-label releases, including Stevie Ray Vaughan's 'The Complete Epic Recordings Collection' (Sony Legacy) and has interviewed everyone from Yngwie Malmsteen to Kevin Bacon (with a few memorable Eric Clapton chats thrown into the mix). Damian, a former member of Brooklyn's The Gas House Gorillas, was the sole guitarist in Mister Neutron, a trio that toured the U.S. and released three albums. He now plays in two NYC-area bands.