Joanne Shaw Taylor announces sixth studio record The Blues Album, shares soulful new single, Let Me Down Easy

Joanna Shaw Taylor performing live
(Image credit: Christie Goodwin/Redferns via Getty)

Joanne Shaw Taylor has finally given a name to her hotly anticipated sixth studio record, which has been announced as The Blues Album – an 11-track effort that will serve up a series of soulful reimaginings of classic blues tracks.

The effort, which will see blues guitar icons Joe Bonamassa and Josh Smith take up position behind the desk for production duties, follows Taylor's 2019 record Reckless Heart, and was recorded at Ocean Ways Studios in Nashville, Tennessee.

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month**

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Matt Owen
Senior Staff Writer,

Matt is a Senior Staff Writer, writing for Guitar World, Guitarist and Total Guitar. He has a Masters in the guitar, a degree in history, and has spent the last 16 years playing everything from blues and jazz to indie and pop. When he’s not combining his passion for writing and music during his day job, Matt records for a number of UK-based bands and songwriters as a session musician.