Johnny A. Premieres New Song, "Gone... (Like a Sunset)" —Exclusive

Today, presents the exclusive premiere of "Gone... (like a sunset)," a new song by guitarist and songwriter Johnny A.

The track is from Johnny's new album, Driven, which will be released June 3 via his own label, Aglaophone Records.

"This title came to me as I was cruisin' down route I-95 South at, let's just say, a slightly accelerated rate of speed," says Johnny, who has his own signature-model Gibson guitar. "The sun was setting as I was listening to the fadeout. You get the picture."

The album features 10 original songs — including "Gone... (like a sunset)" — plus Johnny's new version of the Bee Gees’ “To Love Somebody.” Driven marks the guitarist's first time engineering, mixing and producing an entire album, which was recorded at his home studio, Nirvana Sound.

As a sideman, he has played with a host of renowned musicians, including Doug Clifford (CCR) and Bobby Whitlock (Derek and the Dominos), before kicking off a seven-year stint as guitarist and musical director with J. Geils Band frontman Peter Wolf. He played on Wolf's albums and even co-produced one of them, Long Line.

For more information, visit Be sure to check out his current tour dates below.

Johnny A. on Tour

  • 5/27/2014 New York, NY B.B. King Blues Club Chris Duarte
  • 6/11/2014 Boston, MA Sculler's Jazz Club
  • 6/14/2014 Piermont, NY Turning Point
  • 7/11/2014 Northampton, MA Iron Horse

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month**

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Damian Fanelli
Editor-in-Chief, Guitar World

Damian is Editor-in-Chief of Guitar World magazine. In past lives, he was GW’s managing editor and online managing editor. He's written liner notes for major-label releases, including Stevie Ray Vaughan's 'The Complete Epic Recordings Collection' (Sony Legacy) and has interviewed everyone from Yngwie Malmsteen to Kevin Bacon (with a few memorable Eric Clapton chats thrown into the mix). Damian, a former member of Brooklyn's The Gas House Gorillas, was the sole guitarist in Mister Neutron, a trio that toured the U.S. and released three albums. He now plays in two NYC-area bands.