Megadeth Detail Album Reissues with BMG

Megadeth have announced expanded reissues of two catalog albums, 2001’s The World Needs a Hero and 2004’s The System Has Failed, via BMG on February 15.

Both albums, which have been out of print on CD for five years, are newly remastered by Ted Jensen (Guns N’ Roses, Mastodon, Machine Head) and include rare live bonus tracks.

The World Needs a Hero features a live version of a bonus track from that album, “Coming Home,” while The System Has Failed offers live takes of “Time” from 1999’s Risk and “Use the Man” from 1997’s Cryptic Writings, as well as “The Conjuring,” from 1986’s Peace Sells… But Who’s Buying?

The albums will be released on February 15. For pre-order information, head here.

The World Needs a Hero track list:

1.         Disconnect

2.         The World Needs A Hero

3.         Moto Psycho

4.         1000 Times Goodbye

5.         Burning Bridges

6.         Promises

7.         Recipe For Hate…Warhorse

8.         Losing My Senses

9.         Dread And The Fugitive Mind

10.      Silent Scorn

11.      Return to Hangar

12.      When

13.      Coming Home (CD Bonus Track)

The System Has Failed track list:

1.         Blackmail The Universe

2.         Die Dead Enough

3.         Kick The Choir

4.         The Scorpion

5.         Tears In A Vial

6.         I Know Jack

7.         Back in The Day

8.         Something That I’m Not

9.         Truth Be Told

10.      Of Mice and Men

11.      Shadow of Deth

12.      My Kingdom

13.      Time / Use The Man (Live) (CD Bonus Track)

14.      Conjuring (Live) (CD Bonus Track)

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month**

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Richard Bienstock

Rich is the co-author of the best-selling Nöthin' But a Good Time: The Uncensored History of the '80s Hard Rock Explosion. He is also a recording and performing musician, and a former editor of Guitar World magazine and executive editor of Guitar Aficionado magazine. He has authored several additional books, among them Kurt Cobain: Montage of Heck, the companion to the documentary of the same name.