A new Yes album, The Quest, is set to arrive this October

Steve Howe (left) and Jon Davison of Yes perform live onstage at The Palladium in London on March 25, 2018
(Image credit: Will Ireland/Future)

Progressive rock legends Yes have announced a new album, The Quest.

Set for an October 1 release via InsideOut/Sony, the new LP was produced by the band's longtime guitarist, Steve Howe. It's the group's first album of new material since 2014's Heaven & Earth, and their first to not feature co-founding bassist Chris Squire, who died in 2015.

The album features the band's current lineup of Howe, drummer Alan White, keyboardist Geoff Downes, vocalist Jon Davison and bassist Billy Sherwood, with some additional percussion from Jay Schellen. 

The cover of Yes's new album, 'The Quest'

(Image credit: InsideOutMusic/Sony Music)

"It is simply an honor for me to have the opportunity to bring together the band members in the development of a well-refined set of songs that capture the band’s true potential,” Howe said in a statement.

"Much of the music was written in late 2019 with the rest in 2020. We commissioned several orchestrations to augment and enhance the overall sound of these fresh new recordings, hoping that our emphasis on melody, coupled with some expansive instrumental solo breaks, keeps up the momentum for our listeners.”

The Quest features 11 songs in total – 8 on the main album with 3 extra tracks on a bonus CD – and will be available physically on vinyl and 5.1 Blu-ray and CD deluxe editions. 

Pre-order for The Quest begins on July 23. You can check out the album's track list below.

Yes – The Quest:


01. The Ice Bridge
02. Dare To Know
03. Minus The Man
04. Leave Well Alone
05. The Western Edge
06. Future Memories
07. Music To My Ears
08. A Living Island 


01. Sister Sleeping Soul
02. Mystery Tour
03. Damaged World 

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month**

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Jackson Maxwell

Jackson is an Associate Editor at GuitarWorld.com. He’s been writing and editing stories about new gear, technique and guitar-driven music both old and new since 2014, and has also written extensively on the same topics for Guitar Player. Elsewhere, his album reviews and essays have appeared in Louder and Unrecorded. Though open to music of all kinds, his greatest love has always been indie, and everything that falls under its massive umbrella. To that end, you can find him on Twitter crowing about whatever great new guitar band you need to drop everything to hear right now.