Skip to main content

Nick 13 (Tiger Army) to Release Americana/Country Solo Album on June 7

Nick 13, the frontman for Southern California-based rock trio Tiger Army, will release his solo album June 7 via Sugar Hill Records.

Nick's self-titled debut was produced in Los Angeles and Nashville by Greg Leisz and James Intveld, with mixing duties handled by Grammy award winner Jim Scott (Wilco, Tom Petty, Dixie Chicks). Nick 13 crafts storytelling Americana songs of heartbreak, experience and passion, driven by his distinctive voice and acoustic guitar.

Nick 13 is best known as the singer, songwriter, guitarist and founder of Tiger Army. His solo work recalls the vintage American sounds of honky-tonk and California country from the middle of the last century with a modern twist. He's already performed at Stagecoach, Hootenanny and South By Southwest.

"Nick 13 has the timbre of Chris Isaak, the tone of a young Lyle Lovett, with some Elvis and Ricky Nelson mixed in," wrote The Press Enterprise. declared his music to be "drenched in hillbilly electric guitar [and] coolness."

Nick's debut album for Sugar Hill Records features acoustic and electric guitar, standup bass, pedal steel, fiddle and much more from a wide pedigree of players who connected with 13's genuine passion, understanding and knowledge of the history of the music and forward-thinking vision for the future. Some of the folks on the album include Lloyd Green, Sara Watkins, Josh Grange, Eddie Perez and Mitch Marine, in addition to the album’s producers Leisz and Intveld.

Nick 13 will kick off the album's release with two back-to-back headlining shows in Los Angeles followed by a national tour in June (dates below).


  • June 10 The Troubadour – West Hollywood
  • June 11 The Troubadour – West Hollywood
  • June 14 Bluebird Theatre – Denver, CO
  • June 16 Firebird – St. Louis, MO
  • June 17 Radio Radio – Indianapolis, IN
  • June 18 Magic Bag – Ferndale, MI
  • June 19 Mr. Small’s Theatre – Millvale, PA
  • June 21 Johnny Brenda’s – Philadelphia, PA
  • June 22 Brighton Music Hall – Boston, MA
  • June 24 Bowery Ballroom – NYC
  • June 25 Black Cat – Washington, DC
  • June 27 Vinyl – Atlanta, GA
  • June 28 Mercy Lounge – Nashville, TN
  • June 30 Lincoln Hall – Chicago IL

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Damian Fanelli
Damian Fanelli

Damian is Editor-in-Chief of Guitar World magazine. In past lives, he was GW’s managing editor and online managing editor. He's written liner notes for major-label releases, including Stevie Ray Vaughan's 'The Complete Epic Recordings Collection' (Sony Legacy) and has interviewed everyone from Yngwie Malmsteen to Kevin Bacon (with a few memorable Eric Clapton chats thrown into the mix). Damian, a former member of Brooklyn's The Gas House Gorillas (opens in new tab), was the sole guitarist in Mister Neutron (opens in new tab), a trio that toured the U.S. and released three albums (opens in new tab). He now plays in two NYC-area bands.