Rodrigo y Gabriela Premiere "Continuum" from 'Jaco' Soundtrack — Exclusive

Today, presents the exclusive premiere of Rodrigo y Gabriela's new cover of "Continuum," a classic Jaco Pastorius track from his self-titled 1976 album.

Rodrigo y Gabriela's new interpretation of the song is one of the highlights of Jaco: Original Soundtrack, the soundtrack album from Jaco, a new documentary by Metallica bassist Robert Trujillo and Jaco's eldest son, John Pastorius IV. The album will be released November 27 via Legacy; it boasts 11 songs by Pastorius, along with three new recordings.

You can check out the complete track list below.

The film chronicles the brief-but-extraordinary life and career of Pastorius, the remarkably talented Weather Report bassist who died in 1987 at age 35. Jaco became the state-of-the-art electric bass player. To be more accurate, he pushed the state of the art to the point where he defined it. What he did with his instrument was expand it way past its original function of merely supplying the harmonic underpinning to a composition.

While there were other electric bassists with the technical ability to do more, Jaco was probably the first to make the listener aware of a musical idea first, and the instrument playing second.

For more about the film, watch the trailer below and visit

Jaco: Original Soundtrack Track Listing:

  • 01. “Come On, Come Over” – Jaco Pastorius
  • 02. “Continuum” – Jaco Pastorius
  • 03. “River People” – Weather Report
  • 04. “Teen Town” – Weather Report
  • 05. “Portrait of Tracy” – Jaco Pastorius
  • 06. “The Dry Cleaner From Des Moines” (Live) – Joni Mitchell
  • 07. “All American Alien Boy” – Ian Hunter
  • 08. “Liberty City” (with Herbie Hancock) – Jaco Pastorius
  • 09. “Okonkole Y Trompa” – Jaco Pastorius
  • 10. “Barbary Coast” – Weather Report
  • 11. “Crisis” – Jaco Pastorius
  • 12. “Longing” – Mary Pastorius
  • 13. “Nineteen Eighty Seven” – †††
  • 14. “Shine” – Tech N9ne
  • 15. “Continuum” – Rodrigo y Gabriela
  • 16. “Come On Come Over” – Mass Mental (Robert Trujillo, Armand Sabal-Lecco, Flea, Whit Crane, Benji Webbe, Stephen Perkins & C-Minus)

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month**

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Damian Fanelli
Editor-in-Chief, Guitar World

Damian is Editor-in-Chief of Guitar World magazine. In past lives, he was GW’s managing editor and online managing editor. He's written liner notes for major-label releases, including Stevie Ray Vaughan's 'The Complete Epic Recordings Collection' (Sony Legacy) and has interviewed everyone from Yngwie Malmsteen to Kevin Bacon (with a few memorable Eric Clapton chats thrown into the mix). Damian, a former member of Brooklyn's The Gas House Gorillas, was the sole guitarist in Mister Neutron, a trio that toured the U.S. and released three albums. He now plays in two NYC-area bands.