Skip to main content

The Shivas Premiere New Song, "Ride On" — Exclusive

Today, presents the exclusive premiere of "Ride On," a new song by the Shivas.

The track is from the Portland band's new album, You Know What To Do, which will be released October 28 on Olympia-based label K and on cassette via Burger Records.

Having drawn comparisons to bands like Thee Oh Sees and Black Lips, the Shivas blend elements of surf-pop, garage-rock and good old fashioned rock and roll, dousing their hook-filled melodies with a healthy dose of reverb.

Recorded at K's own Dub Narcotic Studios and mixed on tape by Calvin Johnson, You Know What To Do is a collection of fuzzy, frenetic jams and hazy slower tunes that feature dreamy male and female harmonies.

The Shivas have shared stages with the Dandy Warhols, Spiritualized, the Fresh & Onlys and La Luz and will kick off a North American tour October 1 in support of the new album. You can check out their current tour dates below the Soundcloud player.

For more about the Shivas, visit and their Facebook page.

See the Shivas in Action:

  • 10/1: San Francisco, CA @ Elbo Room
  • 10/2 Ventura, CA @ The Garage
  • 10/4: Pioneertown, CA @ Pappy & Harriet's (Desert Stars Festival)
  • 10/5 El Centro, CA @ Strangers
  • 10/6: Phoenix, AZ @ Trunk Space
  • 10/7: El Paso, TX @ Monarch
  • 10/8: Austin, TX @ Hotel Vegas
  • 10/9: New Orleans, LA @ Circle Bar
  • 10/10 Atlanta, GA @ Mammal
  • 10/11: Jacksonville, FL @ Underbelly
  • 10/12 Winston-Salem, NC @ Reanimator
  • 10/13 Baltimore, MD @ The Crown
  • 10/14 Philadelphia, PA @ Kung Fu Necktie
  • 10/15: New York, NY @ Cake Shop
  • 10/16: Brooklyn, NY @ Palisades
  • 10/18: Toronto, ON @ Smiling Buddha
  • 10/19 Detroit, MI @ Jumbo's
  • 10/20: Chicago, IL @ Subterranean
  • 10/21: Lafayette, IN @ The Spot Tavern
  • 10/22: Lexington, KY @ Green Lantern
  • 10/23: Knoxville, TN @ Pilot Light
  • 10/24: Nashville, TN @ Grimey's
  • 10/25: Kansas City, MO @ Minibar
  • 10/26: Lawrence, KS @ Replay Lounge
  • 10/28: Denver, CO @ Lion's Lair
  • 10/29 Salt Lake City, UT @ Diabolical Records
  • 10/30: Boise, ID @ The Crux
  • 10/31: Bainbridge Island, WA @ Mushrooms and Airplanes House
  • 11/1: Vancouver, BC @ Rickshaw
  • 11/8: Portland, OR @ Bunk Bar (record release show)
Damian Fanelli

Damian is editor-in-chief of Guitar World magazine. From 1998 to 2014, he was one third of Mister Neutron, an instrumental rock act that toured the universe and elsewhere and released three albums via Austin-based Deep Eddy Records. These days he performs with several New York City-area bands and can often be spotted with one of his many, many, many B-bender-equipped guitars. In past lives he was GW’s managing editor and online managing editor – and he still can’t believe he got to write the liner notes for the latest SRV box set.