Hear the pulverising debut single from Vended, featuring Slipknot offspring Griffin Taylor and Simon Crahan

Vended band
Cole Espeland (lead guitar), Griffin Taylor (vocals), Connor Grodzicki (rhythm guitar), Simon Crahan (drums), Jeramiah Pugh (bass) (Image credit: Mark Watson)

Des Moines metallers Vended – featuring Griffin Taylor and Simon Crahan, sons of Slipknot members Corey Taylor and Shawn Crahan – have released their punishing debut single Asylum.

If you’ve not heard of Vended, Asylum might surprise you. It’s a heavy joy-ride of hard rock riffing, pummelling hardcore bounce and doom-y breakdowns. It’s also a clear statement that the five-piece – completed by guitarists Cole Espeland and Connor Grodzicki, alongside bassist Jeremiah Pugh – are not content to ride the coattails of their big ticket relative.

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month**

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Matt Parker
Features Editor, GuitarWorld.com

Matt is Features Editor for GuitarWorld.com. Before that he spent 10 years as a freelance music journalist, interviewing artists for the likes of Total Guitar, Guitarist, Guitar World, MusicRadar, NME.com, DJ Mag and Electronic Sound. In 2020, he launched CreativeMoney.co.uk, which aims to share the ideas that make creative lifestyles more sustainable. He plays guitar, but should not be allowed near your delay pedals.