Free Download: Dead Fingers Premieres New Album and Shares "Twisted"

Here’s something super cool from Dead Fingers.

It's a free download of their song "Twisted" from their brand new album Big Black Dog. This upbeat little romp truly is twisted. Ironically enticing.

But luckily it's also fun and clever and a very good harbinger of other good things from this husband and wife duo from Birmingham. A tongue-twister of clever lyrics and quick pickin'. What's not to like?!

Taylor Hollingsworth shares, "I think the song is about many things but mainly our current standard of medical practice. It seems sometimes to me that doctors prescribe medications for just about anything even when it's completely unnecessary."

Here it and download it now!

Dead Fingers will hit the road in support of the album with a national headlining tour to celebrate.

Since 2012's eponymous debut on Big Legal Mess Records, Dead Fingers have had some time to take a step back and take stock of all of the dynamic changes their lives have undergone over the past few years. As new parents, Kate and Taylor have added a whole new perspective to their road weary travelogues and broke-beat folk/country/blues hybrid, that speaks as much to their growing maturity as artists as it does to their innate ability to put their lives squarely in the fabric of their songs.

From penning acoustic remedies for heartbroken scribes like the elegant "Pomp & Circumstance," to the playful pretzel wordplay of "Twisted," and the metaphysical longing of "Still Haven't Been Satisfied," there's enough existential wisdom for people twice their age to revel in- along with the standard Dead Fingers six string whiplash- to make this one of the most exciting albums in either of their respective catalogs.

Documenting their peculiar form of domestic bliss in tracks like "Shoom Doom Babba Labba" and "Free Tonight," Big Black Dog stands as a new chapter in the careers of two of Birmingham's most talented musicians and their struggle to find a balance between their art and home life and all of the mixed up semiotics that lies between the two.

  • On Tour (more dates coming soon!)
  • July 18 Birmingham AL @ Bottletree
  • July 22 Asheville NC @ Jack of the Woods
  • July 23 Richmond VA Venue TBA
  • July 25 Manhattan @ St. Dymphna's
  • July 26 Brooklyn NY @ Union Hall
  • July 29 Youngstown OH @ Greyland
  • July 30 Detroit MI @ The Rockery
  • July 31 Chicago IL @ The Hideout
  • Aug 1 Bayport MN @ Bayport BBQ
  • Aug 2 Omaha NE @ O'leavers
  • Aug 3 Lincoln NE @ Vega

More at

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month**

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Acoustic Nation

Acoustic Nation is written by Laura B. Whitmore, a music industry marketing veteran, music journalist and editor, who has contributed to, Guitar World, and others. She has interviewed hundreds of musicians and hosts the She Rocks Podcast. As the founder of the Women’s International Music Network, she advocates for women in the music industry and produces the annual She Rocks Awards. She is the Senior Vice President of Marketing for Positive Grid, making the world safe for guitar exploration everywhere! A guitarist and singer/songwriter, Laura is currently co-writing an album of pop songs that empower and energize girls.