Skip to main content

Marcus King Band Premiere New Song, "I Won't Be Here" — Exclusive

Today, presents the exclusive premiere of "I Won't Be Here," a new song by the Marcus King Band.

The track is from the band's new album, Soul Insight, which will be released October 30 via Warren Haynes' Evil Teen Records.

Soul Insight features Greenville, South Carolina-based phenom Marcus King on lead vocals and guitar, Jack Ryan on drums, Anthony House on bass and Alex Abercrombie on organ and keyboards. It was recorded at the Compound Studios in California.

“Recording the album was a really organic experience,” says King, who also produced Soul Insight. “Whether I wrote the song or, in the case of the instrumentals, we developed them together as a band, we’d played them long enough so we were really comfortable with the material."

With King's singing slide resonator guitar and voice building to explosive crescendos, the album echoes the influence of King's own guitar heroes, including Haynes, Derek Trucks and Jimi Hendrix, plus Marvin Gaye, Ray LaMontagne, Gary Clark Jr. and others. Proof of the 19-year-old's virtuosity and vision are on full display within Soul Insight's fiery mix of rock, blues, psychedelia, funk, soul and improvisation.

The potential for his music is endless," Haynes said.

Soul Insight is available for preorder at iTunes and Amazon. You can see the complete track listing—plus the band's upcoming tour dates—below.

For more information, visit and follow the band on Facebook.

Marcus King Band on Tour

  • 10/9 – Austin City Limits Music Festival – Austin, TX
  • 10/10 – Heart o' Texas Fair Complex – Waco, TX
  • 10/17 – Rockwood Music Hall – New York, NY
  • 10/22 – Brooklyn Bowl – Brooklyn, NY w/ The Sun Ra Arkestra
  • 11/11 – Jefferson Theater – Charlottesville, VA w/ The Revivalists
  • 11/12 – Visulite Theatre – Charlotte, NC w/ The Revivalists
  • 11/13 – Music Farm – Charleston, SC w/ The Revivalists
  • 11/14 – Cox Capitol Theatre – Macon, GA w/ The Revivalists

Soul Insight Track Listing:

01. Always
02. Boone
03. Fraudulent Waffle
04. Honey
05. Dave’s Apparition (Interlude)
06. Everything
07. No Decency
08. Dyin’
09. Booty Stank
10. Opie
11. Keep Moving
12. I Won’t Be Here (Hear it above!)

Damian Fanelli

Damian is editor-in-chief of Guitar World magazine. From 1998 to 2014, he was one third of Mister Neutron, an instrumental rock act that toured the universe and elsewhere and released three albums via Austin-based Deep Eddy Records. These days he performs with several New York City-area bands and can often be spotted with one of his many, many, many B-bender-equipped guitars. In past lives he was GW’s managing editor and online managing editor – and he still can’t believe he got to write the liner notes for the latest SRV box set.