Skip to main content

Chris Hillman Premieres "Here She Comes Again," Featuring Roger McGuinn

(Image credit: Lori Stoll (Hillman) | Theo Wargo/Getty Images (McGuinn))

Chris Hillman and Roger McGuinn—two founding members of the Byrds—recently teamed up to record "Here She Comes Again," a song they co-wrote almost 40 years ago.

Below, you can check out our exclusive premiere of the super-catchy song, a standout track from Hillman's new album, Bidin' My Time. It'll be released September 22 via Rounder Records and is available now for preorder (opens in new tab).

“It’s a song Roger and I wrote in the late Seventies that was never recorded,” Hillman told Guitar World. “The only version I had was from a live show. I always wanted to record it; it’s so reminiscent of the 1965-to-1966 Byrds.”

Simply put, Bidin' My Time is a must-own for fans of Hillman and the Byrds. Besides "Here She Comes Again," which features McGuinn on his Rickenbacker 360/12 and Hillman on his signature Guild Byrds Bass, the album features new versions of three mid- to late-Sixties Byrds recordings:

• "The Bells of Rhymney" (featuring David Crosby, another Byrds co-founder, on harmony vocal; this one appeared on the Byrds' debut album, 1965's Mr. Tambourine Man)

• "New Old John Robertson" (an updated version of "Old John Robertson," a Hillman-McGuinn composition from 1968's The Notorious Byrd Brothers)

• "She Don't Care About Time" (a Gene Clark composition from 1965, originally released as the B-side to "Turn! Turn! Turn!").

"For 'New Old John Robertson,' I did a slight rewrite last year," Hillman said. "I just added a bridge with all due respect to Roger. Gene Clark’s wonderful 'She Don’t Care About Time'—I've always loved it. Such a haunting lyric.

"I wish we could have all been together in the studio, but scheduling didn’t permit [it]," Hillman added. "David has worked with me in the studio in the past, and it's always a pleasure. Roger graciously added a guitar part from his studio at home in Florida."

Bidin' My Time (opens in new tab) was produced by Tom Petty and executive produced by Herb Pedersen, who performs on pretty much every song on the album. The disc also features performances by several members of Petty's Heartbreakers (including Mike Campbell on B-bender guitar), not to mention Desert Rose Band alumni (banjoist/guitarist/vocalist Pedersen, guitarist John Jorgenson and pedal steel guitarist JayDee Maness, who played on the Byrds’ iconic Sweetheart of the Rodeo album in 1968).

For our complete interview with Hillman, head here. For more information on Hillman and Bidin' My Time, visit and follow along on Facebook. Be sure to check out Hillman and Pedersen's upcoming tour dates below.

Chris Hillman & Herb Pedersen (with John Jorgenson) on Tour:
9/21 Sellersville, PA Sellersville Theatre
9/22 New York, NY City Winery
9/23 Fall River, MA Narrows Center for the Arts
9/24 Boston, MA Hard Rock Cafe
9/26 Alexandria, VA The Birchmere
9/29 Duluth, GA The Red Clay Theatre
10/1 Nashville, TN City Winery
10/4 Newport, KY Southgate House Revival
10/5 Kent, OH Kent Stage
10/6 Chicago, IL Old Town School of Folk Music
10/7 Edwardsville, IL The Wildey Theatre
10/12 Bakersfield, CA Buck Owens’ Crystal Palace
10/13 Berkeley, CA Freight & Salvage
10/16 West Hollywood, CA The Troubadour
10/26-28 Park City, UT The Egyptian Theatre
11/8 Baton Rouge, LA Red Dragon Listening Room
11/9 The Woodlands, TX Dosey Doe Barn
11/10 Austin, TX Texas Union Theater
1/27/18 Thousand Oaks, CA Scherr Theatre

Bidin' My Time track list:
1. The Bells of Rhymney
2. Bidin' My Time
3. Given All I Can See
4. Different Rivers
5. Here She Comes Again
6. Walk Right Back
7. Such Is the World That We Live In
8. When I Get a Little Money
9. She Don't Care About Time HEAR IT HERE
10. New Old John Robertson
11. Restless
12. Wildflowers HEAR IT HERE

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Damian Fanelli
Editor-in-Chief, Guitar World

Damian is Editor-in-Chief of Guitar World magazine. In past lives, he was GW’s managing editor and online managing editor. He's written liner notes for major-label releases, including Stevie Ray Vaughan's 'The Complete Epic Recordings Collection' (Sony Legacy) and has interviewed everyone from Yngwie Malmsteen to Kevin Bacon (with a few memorable Eric Clapton chats thrown into the mix). Damian, a former member of Brooklyn's The Gas House Gorillas (opens in new tab), was the sole guitarist in Mister Neutron (opens in new tab), a trio that toured the U.S. and released three albums (opens in new tab). He now plays in two NYC-area bands.