Dan Auerbach Premieres "Waiting On a Song" Music Video

(Image credit: Alysse Gafkjen)

The Black Keys' Dan Auerbach will release Waiting On a Song, his second solo album, June 2 via his new label, Easy Eye Sound. He's already released the Steven Mertens-directed music video for "Shine On Me," which you can watch right here.

Today, Auerbach has premiered the music video for the album's upbeat title track.

The video seems to pick up where Dazed and Confused left off, following a group of teens during the “best summer of their lives” before they leave home for college.

"Not only does the video evoke the feeling of the song, but it also pays tribute to the great tradition of Nashville songwriters," Auerbach says. "It was fun to have John Prine and Pat McLaughlin have cameos in the video as I wrote the song with them. It also has appearances by other Nashville songwriters, like Michael Heeney and Luke Dick, as well as David Ferguson, who was the executive producer of the album with me."

The clip was directed by Bryan Schlam.

“When I first heard ‘Waiting On a Song,' I instantly thought about summer hijinks, basically anything that could happen during the last summer between high school and college," Schlam says. "I’ve always wanted to make a movie about that weight, the feeling of moving from childhood to pseudo adulthood.”

Waiting On a Song is available for pre-order on CD, vinyl and digitally. It also be available in limited-edition bundles, including an exclusive 8 track and a vintage 8 track player signed and customized by Auerbach. You can pre-order the album here.

Dan Auerbach, Waiting on a Song Track List

  • 1 Waiting on a Song
  • 2 Malibu Man
  • 3 Livin’ in Sin
  • 4 Shine on Me
  • 5 King of a One Horse Town
  • 6 Never in My Wildest Dreams
  • 7 Cherrybomb
  • 8 Stand by My Girl
  • 9 Undertow
  • 10 Show Me

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Damian Fanelli
Editor-in-Chief, Guitar World

Damian is Editor-in-Chief of Guitar World magazine. In past lives, he was GW’s managing editor and online managing editor. He's written liner notes for major-label releases, including Stevie Ray Vaughan's 'The Complete Epic Recordings Collection' (Sony Legacy) and has interviewed everyone from Yngwie Malmsteen to Kevin Bacon (with a few memorable Eric Clapton chats thrown into the mix). Damian, a former member of Brooklyn's The Gas House Gorillas (opens in new tab), was the sole guitarist in Mister Neutron (opens in new tab), a trio that toured the U.S. and released three albums (opens in new tab). He now plays in two NYC-area bands.