JD McPherson Premieres "Head Over Heels" Music Video

JD McPherson has unveiled the music video for "Head Over Heels," the latest single from his 2015 album, Let the Good Times Roll.

“We set up our equipment in a roller rink in South Oklahoma City, invited a bunch of folks who skate there regularly, and tried to channel the Sonics," McPherson said. "It was a fun shoot.”

McPherson and his longtime band—bassist Jimmy Sutton (the Four Charms), drummer Jason Smay (Los Straitjackets), keyboardist Ray Jacildo and multi-instrumentalist Doug Corcoran—are in the midst of an extensive tour, including a just-added date at New York City's Webster Hall October 9. See below for complete details.

Let the Good Times Roll, the followup to 2012's Signs and Signifiers, was released February 10 via Rounder Records.

For more about McPherson, visit jdmcpherson.com.

2015 JD McPherson Tour Dates:

  • June 16 /// London, United Kingdom /// KOKO
  • June 17 /// Manchester, United Kingdom /// Academy 2
  • June 18 /// Brighton, United Kingdom /// Concorde2
  • June 19 /// Vitoria-Gasteiz, Spain /// Azkena Rock Festival
  • June 21 /// Minneapolis, MN /// Rock the Garden Festival
  • June 24 /// Nottingham, United Kingdom /// Nottingham Rescue Rooms
  • June 26 /// Somerset, United Kingdom /// Glastonbury Festival
  • June 27 /// Amersterdam, Netherlands /// Down the Rabbit Hole
  • July 2 /// Berwyn, IL /// FitzGerald’s American Music Festival
  • July 4 /// St. Paul, MN /// Macalester College
  • July 22 /// Baltimore, MD /// Baltimore Soundstage
  • July 23 /// Dewey Beach, DE /// Bottle & Cork
  • July 24 /// Camden, NJ /// WXPN’s XPoNential Festival
  • July 25 /// Millvale, PA /// Mr. Smalls
  • July 26 /// Columbus, OH /// Park Street Saloon
  • July 30 /// Santa Monica, CA /// Santa Monica Pier
  • July 31 /// San Francisco, CA /// Great American Music Hall
  • August 1 /// Happy Valley, OR /// PICKATHON
  • August 2 /// Happy Valley, OR /// PICKATHON
  • August 28 /// Fayetteville, AR /// Fayetteville Roots Festival
  • August 30 /// Florence, MA /// Amourasaurus
  • October 9 /// New York City, NY /// Webster Hall

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month**

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Damian Fanelli
Editor-in-Chief, Guitar World

Damian is Editor-in-Chief of Guitar World magazine. In past lives, he was GW’s managing editor and online managing editor. He's written liner notes for major-label releases, including Stevie Ray Vaughan's 'The Complete Epic Recordings Collection' (Sony Legacy) and has interviewed everyone from Yngwie Malmsteen to Kevin Bacon (with a few memorable Eric Clapton chats thrown into the mix). Damian, a former member of Brooklyn's The Gas House Gorillas, was the sole guitarist in Mister Neutron, a trio that toured the U.S. and released three albums. He now plays in two NYC-area bands.