RadioBlack Premiere New Song, "Sunny Daze"

(Image credit: Press Photo (Provided))

Today, presents the exclusive premiere of "Sunny Daze," a solid new song by RadioBlack. The track is from their self-titled debut album, which will be released May 12.

The band is led by singer/guitarist TJ Courtney, whose vocals and songwriting blend grunge and Nineties-inspired alt-rock. With drummer Derek Gledhill (Smile Empty Soul) and bassist Hayato Takano, a seasoned touring player, the ensemble makes for a no-nonsense powerhouse trio.

Prior to this new band lineup, Courtney recorded tracks at the Foo Fighters' Studio 606 with producer John "Lou" Lousteau and studio players including Taylor Hawkins (Foo Fighters), Rudy Sarzo (Ozzy Osbourne), Chris Chaney (Jane's Addiction) and Mick Murphy (My Ruin, Chevy Metal).

"'Sunny Daze' is definitely the most light-hearted song on the album, although there are some dark undertones to the lyrics that we’re going to bring out in the music video,” Courtney tells “I wrote this song when I was comparing a previous, completely crazy and toxic relationship to something new that felt really good and also really stable.

“Tracking guitars for this song was awesome because we were in the Foos' Studio 606; they have so many guitars and high-end amps lying around, it was hard to choose. We ended up using a blend of EVH and Friedman amps."

RadioBlack is available for preorder right here.

For more about RadioBlack and the new album, visit and follow along on Facebook and Twitter.

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Damian Fanelli
Editor-in-Chief, Guitar World

Damian is Editor-in-Chief of Guitar World magazine. In past lives, he was GW’s managing editor and online managing editor. He's written liner notes for major-label releases, including Stevie Ray Vaughan's 'The Complete Epic Recordings Collection' (Sony Legacy) and has interviewed everyone from Yngwie Malmsteen to Kevin Bacon (with a few memorable Eric Clapton chats thrown into the mix). Damian, a former member of Brooklyn's The Gas House Gorillas (opens in new tab), was the sole guitarist in Mister Neutron (opens in new tab), a trio that toured the U.S. and released three albums (opens in new tab). He now plays in two NYC-area bands.