Skip to main content

Anthrax's Scott Ian to Host Online Poker Tournament

Most people know Scott Ian as the guitarist in Anthrax, but he is also a poker pro and a member of the UltimateBet online team. In that capacity, Ian will host "Scott Ian's Home Game," an exclusive online poker tournament where you can check, raise and bluff rock stars and poker pros, and be eligible for a $10,000 prize pool, if you're one of 20 lucky players to secure a spot. Leading online poker site UltimateBet has just launched online poker qualifiers for this once-in-a-lifetime Texas Hold'em tournament -- for full details and a complete tournament schedule, visit this site and click on the "Free Download" button at the top of the page, then sign up to win a seat.

Slated to play in "Scott Ian's Home Game" online poker tournament are Ian, Jerry Cantrell of Alice in Chains, Vinnie Paul of Pantera, Metallica's Kirk Hammett and rock legend Slash. Also playing will be 11-time World Series of Poker winner Phil Hellmuth, and World Poker Champion Annie Duke. Online poker players will be able to chat with the rock stars and poker legends through the UltimateBet software's chat feature.

"I am really excited about my Home Game on UB," said Scott Ian, currently in the studio mixing the new Anthrax album Worship Music, due out this summer. "With all of our crazy schedules, we're never in the same city so it's not often that I get to play Hold'em with all my friends. UltimateBet has provided the venue for us to play together and I can't wait to welcome some UB players to the table and get to know them a little more personally."

2009 marks the 25-year anniversary of the release of Anthrax's debut album, 1984's Fistful of Metal, and over the course of that 25-years, the band has remained one of heavy metal's all-time great acts. Along with Slayer, Metallica and Megadeth, Anthrax is credited with co-founding the thrash genre. This summer, Megaforce Records will release Worship Music, Anthrax's first new studio album in six years. The new album will mark the studio debut of new singer Dan Nelson, who joins long-time members Ian (rhythm guitar), Frank Bello (bass), Charlie Benante (drums), and Rob Caggiano (lead guitar).