Archers of Loaf to Reissue 'Icky Mettle' Album Aug. 2

Merge Records will reissue all four Archers of Loaf studio albums, starting with their acclaimed 1993 debut album, Icky Mettle, on Aug. 2.

Re-mastered by Bob Weston and featuring new liner notes by Robert Christgau, Icky Mettle will offer bonus material including the Archers of Loaf vs. The Greatest of All Time EP, plus singles and B-sides from the Icky Mettle days.

It will be available digitally, on CD and and on limited-edition blue vinyl. Reissues of Vee Vee,All the Nation's Airports and White Trash Heroes will follow next year.

Check out "What Did You Expect" from an out-of-print Merge 7-inch included on the Icky Mettle reissue.

Singer/guitarist Eric Bachmann, guitarist Eric Johnson, bassist Matt Gentling, and drummer Mark Price formed Archers of Loaf in Chapel Hill, NC, in 1991. Icky Mettle was the first of four studio albums for the band that seemed to personify what SPIN magazine deemed "a tremendously optimistic time in underground music, that 15-minute period in the early 1990s when it looked like indie rock really might take over the world."

Hear the band's recent live in-studio performance on KEXP–Seattle.


  • June 11 – Austin, TX @ Emoís
  • June 12 – Dallas, TX @ The LOFT at the Palladium
  • June 25 – Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg (SOLD OUT)
  • June 26 – New York, NY @ Webster Hall
  • July 8 – Chicago, IL @ The Bottom Lounge
  • July 9 – Chicago, IL @ The Bottom Lounge (SOLD OUT)
  • July 22 – Atlanta, GA @ The Earl (SOLD OUT)
  • July 23 – Atlanta, GA @ The Earl (SOLD OUT)
  • July 24 – Atlanta, GA @ The Earl
  • August 5 – Washington, DC @ Black Cat (SOLD OUT)
  • August 6 – Philadelphia, PA @ The Trocadero
  • August 19 – Carrboro, NC @ Catís Cradle (SOLD OUT)
  • August 20 – Carrboro, NC @ Catís Cradle
  • September 2 – San Francisco, CA @ Great American Music Hall
  • September 3 – San Francisco, CA @ Great American Music Hall
  • September 8 – Portland, OR @ Music Fest NW
  • September 9 – Seattle, WA @ Neumoís (on sale Friday/Saturday)

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Damian Fanelli
Editor-in-Chief, Guitar World

Damian is Editor-in-Chief of Guitar World magazine. In past lives, he was GW’s managing editor and online managing editor. He's written liner notes for major-label releases, including Stevie Ray Vaughan's 'The Complete Epic Recordings Collection' (Sony Legacy) and has interviewed everyone from Yngwie Malmsteen to Kevin Bacon (with a few memorable Eric Clapton chats thrown into the mix). Damian, a former member of Brooklyn's The Gas House Gorillas, was the sole guitarist in Mister Neutron, a trio that toured the U.S. and released three albums. He now plays in two NYC-area bands.