Wes Borland's new Big Dumb Face album, Christmas in the Cave of Dagoth, might be the heaviest festive record of the year

Wes Borland
(Image credit: Getty Images)

Mere weeks after the release of Limp Bizkit's latest album Still Sucks, guitarist Wes Borland has announced the release of Christmas in the Cave of Dagoth, the third album from his Big Dumb Face project.

The LP – the band's third following 2017's Where is Duke Lion? He's Dead... – offers a deeper insight into Borland's diverse guitar playing beyond the Bizkit, as he serves up everything from super-tight harmonized leads (Thundertusk) to acoustic guitar strums (Some People Say) and unrelenting heavy metal riffage (The Possession of Leslie Bibb).

Borland says in a press release: “Mission statement and big dumb plug for my project Big Dumb Face: BDF has always been about being filterless, quickly clever, fast, and most importantly dumb. 

“Influenced by death metal, calypso, electronic, Hawaiian music and artists like Negativland, Ween, Mr. Bungle, Secret Chiefs 3, John Zorn, Moist Boys, and Jon Wayne’s Texas Funeral, I’ve always tried to capture the moment while incorporating field recordings and studio work in order to make records in an incredibly short amount of time while maintaining a storyline and world of characters that mostly connects but can also break its own rules.

“Outside of a few previously harvested bits and pieces, most of the 3rd record was made in 3 weeks. My shortest and most inspired time frame yet on an LP… This is my outlet, it’s an auditory cartoon, it’s ridiculous and fun. I hope you all enjoy it as much as I do. Thanks for listening.”

Big Dumb Face was founded by Wes Borland and his brother Scott in 1998. The duo released their debut album Duke Lion Fights the Terror!! three years later in 2001, with Borland's Limp Bizkit bandmate Fred Durst serving as executive producer.

The pair remained active until 2004, when they went on a hiatus that would last 17 years, which ended upon the release of their second album, Where is Duke Lion? He's Dead..., in 2017.

Check out the track list for Christmas in the Cave of Dagoth below.

  1. Your Grandma Got You Khaki Slacks
  2. Avoiding The Cyclops
  3. Some People Say
  4. Christmas In The Cave Of Dagoth
  5. Thundertusk
  6. This Holiday Season
  7. The Possession Of Leslie Bibb
  8. It’s Christmas
  9. Lost In A Forest Of Christmas Trees
  10. El Greco’s Twisted Christmas
  11. My Christmas Heart
  12. The Necrotic Feast

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month**

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Sam Roche

Sam was Staff Writer at GuitarWorld.com from 2019 to 2023, and also created content for Total Guitar, Guitarist and Guitar Player. He has well over 15 years of guitar playing under his belt, as well as a degree in Music Technology (Mixing and Mastering). He's a metalhead through and through, but has a thorough appreciation for all genres of music. In his spare time, Sam creates point-of-view guitar lesson videos on YouTube under the name Sightline Guitar.