Big Thief announce new double album, Dragon New Warm Mountain I Believe In You

(left to right) James Krivchenia, Max Oleartchik and Adrianne Lenker of Big Thief perform on stage during the 2021 Pitchfork Music Festival at Union Park on September 10, 2021 in Chicago, Illinois
(Image credit: Daniel Boczarski/Getty Images)

In recent months, Big Thief have been teasing a new album with an exhilarating collection of singles.

First came the simultaneous release of the swirling Little Things and the stunning ballad Sparrow in August, followed by the classically folky Certainty in September, and the serene Change in October.

Now, the Brooklyn-based band have finally capped the months of speculation and singles with the announcement of Dragon New Warm Mountain I Believe In You, a 20-track double LP.

Double albums are usually a chance for bands to stretch out creatively, a luxury the quartet indulges in – to magnificent effect – on the album's newly released single, Time Escaping. Over ping-ponging, zig-zagging acoustic and electric guitar lines and a hypnotic rhythm, Lenker puts in a captivating vocal performance, highlighted by one of the better choruses she's ever written.

You can check the thrilling song out below.

Produced by the band's drummer, James Krivchenia, Dragon New Warm Mountain I Believe In You was recorded in four distinct sessions at four different locations – upstate New York, Topanga Canyon, the Rocky Mountains, and Tucson, Arizona.

For the final, Arizona session, Big Thief were joined by Twain's Mat Davidson, who contributed fiddle and backing vocals to a few of the album's tracks.

After a total of five months recording at the various locales, Big Thief came out of the sessions with a whopping 45 completed songs, which were whittled down to a mere 20 for the final album.

The end result is set for a February 11, 2022 release via 4AD. You can check out the album's cover art and full track list below.

To preorder Dragon New Warm Mountain I Believe In You, head on over to Big Thief's website.

The cover of Big Thief's forthcoming album, Dragon New Warm Mountain I Believe In You

(Image credit: 4AD Records)

Big Thief – Dragon New Warm Mountain I Believe In You:

1. Change
2. Time Escaping
3. Spud Infinity
4. Certainty
5. Dragon New Warm Mountain I Believe in You
6. Sparrow
7. Little Things
8. Heavy Bend
9. Flower of Blood
10. Blurred View
11. Red Moon
12. Dried Roses
13. No Reason
14. Wake Me up to Drive
15. Promise Is a Pendulum
16. 12,000 Lines
17. Simulation Swarm
18. Love Love Love
19. The Only Place
20. Blue Lightning

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month**

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Jackson Maxwell

Jackson is an Associate Editor at He’s been writing and editing stories about new gear, technique and guitar-driven music both old and new since 2014, and has also written extensively on the same topics for Guitar Player. Elsewhere, his album reviews and essays have appeared in Louder and Unrecorded. Though open to music of all kinds, his greatest love has always been indie, and everything that falls under its massive umbrella. To that end, you can find him on Twitter crowing about whatever great new guitar band you need to drop everything to hear right now.