Skip to main content

Black Sabbath/Deep Purple/Iron Maiden/Metallica Supergroup to Release Single in June

Two songs by WhoCares, a musical project featuring past and current members of Black Sabbath, Deep Purple, Iron Maiden and Metallica, will be released in the United States as a CD single on June 27, according to Proceeds will go toward the rebuilding of a music school in Gyumri, Armenia.

The songs -- “Out of My Mind” and “Holy Water” -- were recorded in September 2010 and feature a star-studded lineup, including Tony Iommi, guitars (Black Sabbath); Ian Gillan, vocals (Deep Purple, Black Sabbath); Jason Newsted, bass (Metallica, Voivoid, Flotsam & Jetsam); Niko McBrain, drums (Iron Maiden); Jon Lord, keyboards (Deep Purple) and Linde Linstrom, guitars (HIM, a Finnish band).

The single will be released in Europe on May 24 and available for digital download on May 6.

Check out this video about the WhoCares project.

Visit for more info.