Enslaved Release Free 'Sleeping Gods' Downloadable EP

Norwegian progressive/psychedelic extreme metal band Enslaved have released The Sleeping Godsvia Scion A/V as a free downloadable five-song EP.

You can download the EP right here:

Following up on last year’s Axioma Ethica Odini, the EP finds the quintet once again expanding the boundaries of what metal can be, incorporating influences from across the musical spectrum. Mainly recorded in Solslottet Studio in Bergen, Norway, and partly in the band’s own home studio, the effort finds the group sounding leaner and more confident than ever, part and parcel of maintaining a presence at the foreground of the international metal movement for 20 years.

Throughout its 30-minute playing time, the EP sways and punches in equal measure, in no small part due to the dexterous and powerful rhythm section of vocalist/bassist Grutle Kjellson and drummer Cato Bækkevold. Herbrand Larsen’s swirling keyboard textures form an ether around Ice Dale and Ivar Bjørnson’s guitars, which ooze tasteful sophistication and melodic sensibility in equal measure with their crushing, impenetrable force. This release is a must have for both Enslaved fans and fans of progressive music in general.

The Sleeping Gods tracklisting:

  • 01. Heimvegen
  • 02. Alu Misyrki
  • 03. Synthesis
  • 04. Nordlys
  • 05. The Sleeping Gods

For more about Enslaved, visit enslaved.no.

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month**

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Guitar World Editors

Since 1980, Guitar World has brought guitarists the best in-depth interviews with great players, along with exclusive lessons, informative gear reviews and insightful columns that help guitarists grow and excel on their instrument. Whether you want to learn the techniques employed by your guitar heroes, read about their latest projects or simply need to know which guitar is the right one to buy, Guitar World is your guide.