Skip to main content

Hear St. Vincent's surreal, soulful new single, The Melting Of The Sun

St. Vincent performs live in 2018
(Image credit: Andrew Chin/Getty Images)

Last month, St. Vincent capped weeks of speculation and teases with the announcement of her new album, Daddy's Home, and the unveiling of its 70s funk-infused lead single, Pay Your Way in Pain.

Now, St. Vincent – the stage name of Annie Clark – has unveiled the album's second single, the similarly slinky, soulful and difficult-to-pin-down The Melting Of The Sun.

You can check out its music video – which features animation by Chris McD – below.

Daddy’s Home, Clark's sixth album, is set for a May 14 release via Loma Vista recordings. It was produced by Clark with Jack Antonoff.

To promote it, Clark is scheduled to appear on Saturday Night Live this Saturday, April 3. 

You can check out Daddy’s Home's cover art and tracklist below, and preorder it right here on CD, vinyl, vinyl deluxe and cassette formats.

St. Vincent Daddy's Home

(Image credit: St. Vincent)

St. Vincent – Daddy's Home

  1. Pay Your Way In Pain
  2. Down And Out Downtown
  3. Daddy’s Home
  4. Live In the Dream
  5. The Melting Of The Sun
  6. The Laughing Man
  7. Down
  8. Somebody Like Me
  9. My Baby Wants A Baby
  10. …At The Holiday Party
  11. Candy Darling
Jackson Maxwell

Jackson is an Associate Editor at He’s been writing and editing stories about new gear, technique and guitar-driven music both old and new since 2014, and has also written extensively on the same topics for Guitar Player. Elsewhere, his album reviews and essays have appeared in Louder and Unrecorded. Though open to music of all kinds, his greatest love has always been indie, and everything that falls under its massive umbrella. To that end, you can find him on Twitter crowing about whatever great new guitar band you need to drop everything to hear right now.