Jeff Tweedy Announces New Solo Album, Shares First Single, "Some Birds"

Jeff Tweedy will release a new solo album, WARM, on November 30th via dBpm Records. In advance of the record, the Wilco frontman has shared the official video for the first single, “Some Birds,” which can be viewed above.

In a statement, Tweedy described “Some Birds” as “like a lot of songs on WARM, being a confrontation between self and shadow self simultaneously feeling I'm to blame and not to blame, present and gone, and utterly confused, but determined to hold someone accountable.”

The “Some Birds” video was directed by Seth Henrikson, who says, "The concept for the video naturally highlights Jeff’s amazing songwriting and lyrical genius. However, it also exploits another of Jeff’s gifts—his uncanny sense of men’s fashion and hairstyles. I’m excited to share it with Tweedy fans!” 

Tweedy will also release an autobiography, LET’S GO (SO WE CAN GET BACK): A Memoir of Recording and Discording with Wilco, Etc., on November 13 via Dutton. He is currently out on the road on a solo tour of North America. Tickets are available at

WARM was produced and recorded by Tweedy, along with collaborators including Glenn Kotche, Tom Schick and his son, Spencer Tweedy, at Wilco’s The Loft studio in Chicago. 

WARM can be pre-ordered here. Album art and full track list is below. 

WARM tracklist:
1. Bombs Above
2. Some Birds
3. Don’t Forget
4. How Hard it is for a Desert to Die
5. Let’s Go Rain
6. From Far Away
7. I Know What It’s Like
8. Having Been Is No Way To Be
9. The Red Brick
10. Warm (When The Sun Has Died)
11. How Will I Find You

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month**

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Richard Bienstock

Rich is the co-author of the best-selling Nöthin' But a Good Time: The Uncensored History of the '80s Hard Rock Explosion. He is also a recording and performing musician, and a former editor of Guitar World magazine and executive editor of Guitar Aficionado magazine. He has authored several additional books, among them Kurt Cobain: Montage of Heck, the companion to the documentary of the same name.