Metallica and Lou Reed Unveil Full 'Lulu' Track Listing

Metallica and Lou Reed -- or 'Loutallica,' as it seems everyone is calling them now -- have unveiled the final track listing for their upcoming album, Lulu, which is set for release on November 1.

You can check out the full track listing below.

The recording sessions that lead to Lulu were originally going to feature Metallica collaborating with the legendary Velvet Underground frontman on a selection of lesser known Lou Reed songs, however the idea soon became to record 10 new songs that Reed had written for a Berlin production of the 'Lulu Plays,' a pair of plays written by German playwright Frank Wedekind.

Lulu was recorded at a much quicker pace than Metallica typically work at, with many first takes being used in the final product.

"We very quickly cobbled the songs together and then recorded them," Metallica lead guitarist Kirk Hammett recently told Mojo. "And then Lou says, 'That's great! Let's move on.' And that's just so diametrically opposed to the way we work. We will hammer a song for months and months, and then end up not using it."

Lulu Track Listing:

  • Brandenburg Gate (4:19)
  • The View (5:17)
  • Pumping Blood (7:24)
  • Mistress Dread (6:52)
  • Iced Honey (4:36)
  • Cheat On Me (11:26)
  • Frustration (8:33)
  • Little Dog (8:01)
  • Dragon (11:08)
  • Junior Dad (19:28)

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month**

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Josh Hart

Josh Hart is a former web producer and staff writer for Guitar World and Guitar Aficionado magazines (2010–2012). He has since pursued writing fiction under various pseudonyms while exploring the technical underpinnings of journalism, now serving as a senior software engineer for The Seattle Times.