Neil Young & Crazy Hourse Announce Release Date for New Album, 'Americana'

According to Rolling Stone, Neil Young & Crazy Horse have set a June 5 release date for a new album, Americana.

The album — Young's first record with the full Crazy Horse lineup in more than 15 years — features the band taking on classic American folk standards.

"What ties these songs together is the fact that while they may represent an America that may no longer exist," said Young in a press statement, "the emotions and scenarios behind these songs still resonate with what’s going on in the country today with equal, if not greater impact nearly 200 years later."

He continued, "The lyrics reflect the same concerns and are still remarkably meaningful to a society going through economic and cultural upheaval, especially during an election year. They are just as poignant and powerful today as the day they were written."

Songs covered will include "Oh Susannah," "Clementine" and "She'll Be Coming 'Round the Mountain."

Americana Track Listing:

  • "Oh Susannah"
  • "Clementine"
  • "Tom Dooley"
  • "Gallows Pole"
  • "Get A Job"
  • "Travel On"
  • "High Flyin’ Bird"
  • "She’ll Be Comin ’Round The Mountain"
  • "This Land Is Your Land"
  • "Wayfarin’ Stranger"
  • "God Save The Queen"

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month**

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Josh Hart

Josh Hart is a former web producer and staff writer for Guitar World and Guitar Aficionado magazines (2010–2012). He has since pursued writing fiction under various pseudonyms while exploring the technical underpinnings of journalism, now serving as a senior software engineer for The Seattle Times.