Steven Tyler and Nuno Bettencourt Jam on “Brown Sugar” for New Compilation Album

Aerosmith's Steven Tyler has recorded a version of the Rolling Stones’ 1971 hit "Brown Sugar" for the compilation album Muscle Shoals…Small Town, Big Sound. The new effort, which will be released on September 28 via BMG, is a tribute to Alabama's Muscle Shoals sound. Extreme guitarist Nuno Bettencourt also plays on the track, which was recorded at FAME Studios.

Speaking with Joe Rogan Experience host/comedian Joe Rogan, Tyler described the song as "sick as fuck.” He added about his version of "Brown Sugar": "We got all the players from way back then, the horn sections, got girls to sing it."

"Brown Sugar" by Tyler and Bettencourt will be available for instant download upon pre-ordering the album, starting August 31.

Muscle Shoals…Small Town, Big Sound features many people who have recorded hits at FAME studios over the years, covering hit songs from generations earlier. Artists include Chris Stapleton, Alan Black, Alicia Keyes, Lee Ann Womack, Willie Nelson, Steven Tyler, Demi Lovato, Vince Gill, Kep Mo, Kid Rock, and Candi Staton.

Muscle Shoals…Small Town, Big Sound track list:

01. Road Of Love - By Keb' Mo'

02. I'd Rather Go Blind - By Grace Potter

03. Brown Sugar - By Steven Tyler & Nuno Bettencourt

04. Gotta Serve Somebody - By Jamey Johnson, Willie Nelson, Chris Stapleton & Lee Ann Womack

05. I Never Loved A Man (The Way I Love You) - By Demi Lovato

06. Snatching It Back - By Kid Rock

07. I'll Take You There - By Aloe Blacc

08. Cry Like A Rainy Day - By Michael Mcdonald

09. True Love - By Vince Gill & Wendy Moten

10. Come And Go Blues - By Alison Krauss

11. Respect Yourself - By Mike Farris & The Blind Boys Of Alabama

12. Steal Away - By Eli "Paperboy" Reed

13. Wild Horses - By Alan Jackson

14. Mustang Sally - By Brently Stephen Smith

15. We've Got Tonight - By Chord Overstreet

16. Givin' It Up For Your Love - By Tom Johnston & Delbert McClinton

You can pre-order Muscle Shoals…Small Town, Big Sound here.

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Richard Bienstock

Rich is the co-author of the best-selling Nöthin' But a Good Time: The Uncensored History of the '80s Hard Rock Explosion. He is also a recording and performing musician, and a former editor of Guitar World magazine and executive editor of Guitar Aficionado magazine. He has authored several additional books, among them Kurt Cobain: Montage of Heck, the companion to the documentary of the same name.