The Mars Volta announce new album and share Vigil – a track lit up by Omar Rodríguez-López's dreamy guitar tones

The Mars Volta, pictured in 2012
(Image credit: Christie Goodwin / Getty)

The Mars Volta have released their third track of 2022, Vigil. In addition, the prog rock band has announced the arrival of a new (self-titled) album, due September 16.

The group, consisting of central duo vocalist Cedric Bixler-Zavala and guitarist Omar Rodríguez-López, previously released Blacklight Shine back in June, before following it up with the track Graveyard Love in early July. 

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month**

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Matt Parker
Features Editor,

Matt is Features Editor for Before that he spent 10 years as a freelance music journalist, interviewing artists for the likes of Total Guitar, Guitarist, Guitar World, MusicRadar,, DJ Mag and Electronic Sound. In 2020, he launched, which aims to share the ideas that make creative lifestyles more sustainable. He plays guitar, but should not be allowed near your delay pedals.