Radiohead side project The Smile premiere ethereal new single, The Smoke

(from left) Jonny Greenwood, Thom Yorke and Tom Skinner of The Smile
(Image credit: Alex Lake)

The Smile – the British trio comprised of Radiohead's Thom Yorke and Jonny Greenwood and Sons Of Kemet’s Tom Skinner – have released a new single, The Smoke.

A dreamy funk-by-way-of-Krautrock jam driven by an infectious bass guitar line from Yorke and Greenwood's spacious horn and woodwind arrangements, it stands in stark contrast to the post-punk fury of their debut single, You Will Never Work In Television Again.

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month**

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Jackson Maxwell

Jackson is an Associate Editor at He’s been writing and editing stories about new gear, technique and guitar-driven music both old and new since 2014, and has also written extensively on the same topics for Guitar Player. Elsewhere, his album reviews and essays have appeared in Louder and Unrecorded. Though open to music of all kinds, his greatest love has always been indie, and everything that falls under its massive umbrella. To that end, you can find him on Twitter crowing about whatever great new guitar band you need to drop everything to hear right now.