Machine Head Premiere New Song, "Beyond the Pale"

“I feel like metal could really infiltrate the mainstream with this album.

“I feel like metal could really infiltrate the mainstream with this album. (Image credit: Albert Tatlock/Official Press Photo)

Metal masters Machine Head have released a new song—"Beyond the Pale"—and you can hear it below. The gritty track is from their new album, Catharsis, which'll be released January 26 via Nuclear Blast.

“I feel like metal could really infiltrate the mainstream with this album," guitarist Robb Flynn said in a statement released this morning. "And it needs more than ever.

"A lot of consideration went into making these songs more identifiable to a wider audience. Simplifying ideas, simplifying hooks, really concentrating on story-telling as opposed to ‘brutal poetry’ or whatever. And while I’d love to say it was all some grand plan, there was no ‘plan.’ You never know where you’re going to end up whenever you start writing a just write...but I tell ya what...we ended up with a landmark here.

"Whenever you finish an album, you always feel proud, but this time...we’ve got something really special. We can feel it. We know it. Catharsis could really elevate our genre."

The album was produced by Flynn and recorded, mixed and co-produced by Zack Ohren at Sharkbite Studios in Oakland. Mastering was handled by Ted Jensen at Sterling Sound in New York.

For more about the new album (including pre-order info), head here. To enter Machine Head land, step right this way.

Catharsis Track List:
1. Volatile
2. Catharsis
3. Beyond the Pale
4. California Bleeding
5. Triple Beam
6. Kaleidoscope
7. Bastards
8. Hope Begets Hope
9. Screaming at the Sun
10. Behind a Mask
11. Heavy Lies the Crown
12. Psychotic
13. Grind You Down
14. Razorblade Smile
15. Eulogy

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month**

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Damian Fanelli
Editor-in-Chief, Guitar World

Damian is Editor-in-Chief of Guitar World magazine. In past lives, he was GW’s managing editor and online managing editor. He's written liner notes for major-label releases, including Stevie Ray Vaughan's 'The Complete Epic Recordings Collection' (Sony Legacy) and has interviewed everyone from Yngwie Malmsteen to Kevin Bacon (with a few memorable Eric Clapton chats thrown into the mix). Damian, a former member of Brooklyn's The Gas House Gorillas, was the sole guitarist in Mister Neutron, a trio that toured the U.S. and released three albums. He now plays in two NYC-area bands.