Ritchie Blackmore's Rainbow Premiere First New Songs in 22 Years

Rainbow have premiered some new music. Sort of.

The updated version of Ritchie Blackmore's longtime off-and-on-again band has released two new recordings: "Land of Hope and Glory," a reworking of "Pomp And Circumstance March No. 1," a well-known patriotic British tune from 1902, and a new studio version of "I Surrender," a Russ Ballard song Rainbow originally released in 1981.

They represent the first new studio tracks from the band since 1995's Stranger in Us All. Both songs are available now via iTunes.

Besides Blackmore, Rainbow's current lineup includes singer Ronnie Romero, keyboardist Jens Johansson, drummer David Keith, bassist Bob Nouveau and backing singers Candice Night and Lady Lynn.

Check out the songs and tell us what you think!

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Damian Fanelli
Editor-in-Chief, Guitar World

Damian is Editor-in-Chief of Guitar World magazine. In past lives, he was GW’s managing editor and online managing editor. He's written liner notes for major-label releases, including Stevie Ray Vaughan's 'The Complete Epic Recordings Collection' (Sony Legacy) and has interviewed everyone from Yngwie Malmsteen to Kevin Bacon (with a few memorable Eric Clapton chats thrown into the mix). Damian, a former member of Brooklyn's The Gas House Gorillas (opens in new tab), was the sole guitarist in Mister Neutron (opens in new tab), a trio that toured the U.S. and released three albums (opens in new tab). He now plays in two NYC-area bands.