Skip to main content

Rossington Premiere New Song and Video, "Take It On Faith"

(Image credit: Travis Shinn (provided))

Today, presents the exclusive premiere of "Take It on Faith," the title track—and music video—from the upcoming album by Rossington.

And yes, that's Rossington as in Lynyrd Skynyrd cofounder and guitarist Gary Rossington and his wife, Dale Krantz-Rossington. The album will be released November 4 via Loud & Proud Records.

Take It on Faith features 12 new songs, all tracked by an ace studio band that was put together by the album’s producer and engineer, David Z (Prince, Etta James, Buddy Guy). The lineup is pretty much a who’s who of studio masters (check out the full list below), including Ben Fowler (Lynyrd Skynyrd, Hank Williams), the late Richie Hayward on drums, Jack Holder on guitar, Bruce McCabe on piano and keyboards, Reese Wynans (Stevie Ray Vaughan and Double Trouble) on organ and David Smith on bass.

ZZ Top’s Billy Gibbons co-wrote “Good Side of Good” (check out the complete track list below); Delbert McClinton blows a mean harp to butter up some tasty guitar licks by Gary Nicholson on “Dance While You’re Cookin’”—and then there's Bekka Bramlett, who has sung with everyone from Fleetwood Mac to Billy Joel to Robert Plant.

The longtime Skynyrd guitarist and his wife have been making music together for more than 35 years. Dale opened up for Skynyrd in ’77 while she was singing with 38 Special; then as part of Rossington Collins Band in the Eighties and then and now as part of the Lynyrd Skynyrd family.

“We do meet-and-greets every night when we’re on tour,” Gary says. “Fans just kept asking us if we were ever going to do anything again, and we kept saying no, but even the Skynyrd band would say, ‘Hey, go do something—the fans want to hear it.’ Finally, we thought, ‘Well, let’s just do it.’ Right now, we consider it a gift to the fans. We did it for them, and I hope they like it.

"They asked us to do something again, so we did it. We seized that opportunity and ran with it. We’re real excited it’s finally coming out.”

Take It on Faith is available for preorder here. To keep up with everything happening in the world of Lynyrd Skynyrd, check out

Players on Take It on Faith:
Gary Rossington: guitar
Dale Rossington: vocals
Jack Holder: guitar
Richie Hayward: drums
Bruce McCabe: piano, keyboards
Delbert McClinton: harmonica
Gary Nicholson: guitar
David Smith: bass
Reese Wynans: organ
Kenny Greenburg: guitar overdubs
Michael Rojas: piano
Gordon Mote: piano and B3 overdubs
Shawn Camp: dobro
Bekka Bramlett and Vicki Hampton: additional vocalsTake It on Faith Track listing:
1. Highway of Love
2. I Should’ve Known
3. Take It on Faith
4. Light a Candle
5. Dance While You’re Cookin’
6. Shame on Me
7. Good Side of Good
8. Through My Eyes
9. Something Fishy
10. Too Many Rainy Days
11. Where Did Love Go
12. Two Very Different Things