Exclusive Premiere: Cody Canada & The Departed — "Flagpole"

Here's the exclusive premiere of "Flagpole," a track off Adventūs, the new album by Cody Canada & The Departed. The album, which will be released November 13 through Underground Sound, is the band's first album of original material.

Adventūs (Latin for "arrival") features 14 hard-rocking tracks forged under the hot Southern sun. It represents a new era of growth for Canada, who formed The Departed upon the disbanding Cross Canadian Ragweed.

The band also features Canada’s Ragweed bandmate Jeremy Plato on bass, Seth James on guitar (Seth James Band, Ray Wylie Hubbard), Steve Littleton on B3 organ and keys (Live Oak Decline, Stoney LaRue & the Arsenals, Medicine Show) and Chris Doege on drums (Seth James Band, Nashville touring acts).

"Flagpole" is the seventh track on Adventūs.

"I heard a song on the radio that didn't sit well with me," Canada said. "I felt that the writer didn't give all that they could when writing it. The opening line of 'Flagpole' is about that. 'Tell me how to feel, it doesn't matter anyway, the only thing that's real are lies that you tell.'

"For a couple weeks, the song sat with only that line, then we played in Colorado on top of a mountain at a great venue called Mishwaka. No cell service, no TV. Perfect! What happened for the next couple of hours went from the original reason the song was started to political reasons, to the world in general. If we join together as people, we can conquer evil. Whether that's bad music or bad people in the world. But, of course, like the person who wrote that song. This song is my opinion."

Keep up with The Departed at their official website and Facebook page. Check out their current tour dates below the SoundCloud player.


  • 11/1 - Mission , TX @ Las Palmas Race Park
  • 11/2 - Helotes , TX @ Floores Country Store
  • 11/3 - Roscoe , TX @ The Lumberyard
  • 11/9 - Fayetteville , AR @ George’s Majestic Lounge
  • 11/10 - Shawnee , OK @ 3rd Annual Music Jam/Shawnee Police
  • 11/12 - San Marcos , TX @ Lonestar Music (in-store)
  • 11/13 - Austin , TX @ Waterloo Records (in-store)
  • 11/15 - Nacogdoches , TX @ The Barn
  • 11/16 - Bryan , TX @ The Grand Stafford Theater
  • 11/17 - Fredericksburg , TX @ Luckenbach Dance Hall
  • 11/23 - Wichita Falls , TX @ Iron Horse Pub
  • 11/24 - Fort Worth , TX @ Billy Bob's Texas
  • 12/5 - Dallas , TX @ House of Blues *
  • 12/6 - Houston , TX @ House of Blues *
  • 12/7 - New Braunfels , TX @ Gruene Hall *
  • 12/8 - San Angelo , TX @ Blaine 's Pub *
  • 12/9 - Corpus Christi , TX @ Brewster St. Icehouse*
  • 12/15 - Goliad , TX @ Schroeder Hall

* = Cody Canada acoustic show w/ Jason Boland, Chris Knight

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month**

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Damian Fanelli
Editor-in-Chief, Guitar World

Damian is Editor-in-Chief of Guitar World magazine. In past lives, he was GW’s managing editor and online managing editor. He's written liner notes for major-label releases, including Stevie Ray Vaughan's 'The Complete Epic Recordings Collection' (Sony Legacy) and has interviewed everyone from Yngwie Malmsteen to Kevin Bacon (with a few memorable Eric Clapton chats thrown into the mix). Damian, a former member of Brooklyn's The Gas House Gorillas, was the sole guitarist in Mister Neutron, a trio that toured the U.S. and released three albums. He now plays in two NYC-area bands.