Ann Wilson recruits Kenny Wayne Shepherd, Warren Haynes for new solo album, Fierce Bliss

(from left) Ann Wilson, Kenny Wayne Shepherd and Warren Haynes
(Image credit: Ethan Miller/Getty Images, John Atashian/Getty Images, Jeff Kravitz/FilmMagic)

Ann Wilson, lead singer of Heart, has announced a new solo album, Fierce Bliss.

For Fierce Bliss, Wilson recruited a couple of killer guest electric guitar players, Kenny Wayne Shepherd and Warren Haynes. Session guitar heavyweight Tom Bukovac, meanwhile, is featured throughout the album, which is set for an April 29 release via Silver Lining Music.

You can check out the music video for the record's first single and opening track, Greed, below.

With a springy, hugely satisfying riff, pillowy keyboard work, and a typically phenomenal vocal performance from Wilson, Greed's bound to please Heart fans of all eras.  

“Greed is that thing in our animal nature that makes us want more,” Wilson said of the tune in a press release. “Whether it be money, sex, power or ecstasy, it fires our craving. It happens with all of us. When you turn around and catch yourself making decisions because you want the money, or because you’re caught in the headlights of glory, well, those are greedy moments.

“I think people who claim to have made every decision from a root of pure idealism, and never done anything dark or greedy, [are] lying," she continued. "I think everybody who ventures into especially the music industry hoping for a career with big success, ends up making these Faustian bargains at some point even if only briefly. It’s an aggressive song and I think I write best when I’m angry.”

Fierce Bliss was produced by Wilson and Bukovac, and features Haynes on the songs Gladiator and Angel’s Blues, and Shepherd on Bridge of Sighs (a cover of the classic Robin Trower tune) and Missionary Man. Vince Gill, meanwhile, lends some vocals to a version of Queen's Love of My Life

Gladiator and Angel’s Blues – which were co-produced by Haynes – also feature Gov't Mule bass guitar man Jorgen Carlsson and drummer Matt Abts.  

You can check out Fierce Bliss's cover art and track list below, and preorder the album at Wilson's website.

The cover of Ann Wilson's forthcoming album, Fierce Bliss

(Image credit: Silver Lining Music)

Ann Wilson – Fierce Bliss:

  1. Greed
  2. Black Wing
  3. Bridge of Sighs
  4. Fighten for Life
  5. Love of My Life (feat. Vince Gill)
  6. Missionary Man
  7. Gladiator
  8. Forget Her
  9. A Moment in Heaven
  10. Angel’s Blues
  11. As the World Turns

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month**

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Jackson Maxwell

Jackson is an Associate Editor at He’s been writing and editing stories about new gear, technique and guitar-driven music both old and new since 2014, and has also written extensively on the same topics for Guitar Player. Elsewhere, his album reviews and essays have appeared in Louder and Unrecorded. Though open to music of all kinds, his greatest love has always been indie, and everything that falls under its massive umbrella. To that end, you can find him on Twitter crowing about whatever great new guitar band you need to drop everything to hear right now.