Skip to main content

'Carnegie Hall,' 4-Disc Live Album by Frank Zappa & The Mothers of Invention, Available for Pre-Order

In October 1971, Frank Zappa & The Mothers of Invention played two shows in one night at New York City’s Carnegie Hall. For the first time ever, those recordings are available for pre-order as a four-disc set.

The album, Carnegie Hall, celebrates that night's marathon -- two shows (7:30 and 11:30 p.m.) with ticket prices ranging from $3.50 to $6 -- featuring Zappa (lead guitar, vocals) with Mark Volman (vocals, percussion), Howard Kaylan (vocals), Ian Underwood (keyboards, alto sax), Don Preston (keyboards, gong), Jim Pons (bass, vocals) and Aynsley Dunbar (drums).

The package is accompanied by extensive liner notes in which Gail Zappa describes these shows as “recorded Live in glorious mono,” they “represent the only time Frank Zappa, with or without the Mothers of Invention, appeared at Carnegie Hall. Promoter Ron Delsener, who had to convince the venue’s booker that Zappa was “a very accomplished classical musician of several wind instruments like the cello, viola and harp,” says “enjoy genius and smile, Frank is smilin’ at you.”

The four-disc set launches with The Persuasions, an a cappella group whose first album was recorded by Zappa in 1970. Carnegie Hall continues with “Call Any Vegetable” from the Absolutely Free album and includes “Peaches En Regalia,” a 30-minute version of “King Kong” and other classic Zappa tunes.

The album is being released by Vaulternative Records and the Zappa Family Trust.

Full track listing:

Disc 1


  • 1. I Just Can’t Work No Longer
  • 2. Working All The Live Long Day/Chain Gang
  • 3. Medley #1
  • 4. Pieces Of A Man
  • 5. Buffalo Soldier
  • 6. Medley #2
  • 7. Medley #3

8. Hello (To Foh)/Ready?!
9. Call Any Vegetable
10. Anyway The Wind Blows
11. Magdalena
12. Dog Breath

Disc 2


1. Peaches En Regalia
2. Tears Began To Fall
3. Shove It Right In
4. King Kong
5. 200 Motels Finale
6. Who Are The Brain Police?

Disc 3


1. Auspicious Occasion
2. Divan Persist Of: Once Upon A Time
3. Sofa #1
4. Magic Pig
5. Stick It Out
6. Divan Ends Here
7. Pound For A Brown
8. Sleeping In A Jar
9. Wonderful Wino
10. Sharleena 1979
11. Cruising For Burgers

Disc 4


1. Billy The Mountain
2. Billy The Mountain
3. Billy The Mountain
4. The $600 Mud Shark Prelude
5. The Mud Shark

Damian Fanelli

Damian is editor-in-chief of Guitar World magazine. From 1998 to 2014, he was one third of Mister Neutron, an instrumental rock act that toured the universe and elsewhere and released three albums via Austin-based Deep Eddy Records. These days he performs with several New York City-area bands and can often be spotted with one of his many, many, many B-bender-equipped guitars. In past lives he was GW’s managing editor and online managing editor – and he still can’t believe he got to write the liner notes for the latest SRV box set.