The Mars Volta Announce March Release for New Studio Album, 'Noctourniquet'

Update: The album's artwork and track listing can now be seen below.

It's going to be a busy year for Omar Rodriguez-Lopez and Cedric Bixler-Zavala. Not only has At the Drive-In reunited for a Coachella performance, but it has just been announced that the Mars Volta will release their sixth full-length album on March 27.

Titled Noctourniquet, the album contains 13 tracks, all of which were produced by Rodriguez-Lopez. A couple song titles off the album were revealed in an official press statement, including "The Malkin Jewel" and "The Whip Hand."

The press release also states that the album "explores musical territories previously uncharted in the duo's 20 or so years of creating music together."

Noctourniquet marks the follow-up to 2009's Octahedron.

  • 1. The Whip Hand
  • 2. Aegis
  • 3. Dyslexicon
  • 4. Empty Vessels Make The Loudest Sound
  • 5. The Malkin Jewel
  • 6. Lapochka
  • 7. In Absentia
  • 8. Imago
  • 9. Molochwalker
  • 10. Trinkets Pale Of Moon
  • 11. Vedamalady
  • 12. Noctourniquet
  • 13. Zed And Two Naughts

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month**

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Josh Hart

Josh Hart is a former web producer and staff writer for Guitar World and Guitar Aficionado magazines (2010–2012). He has since pursued writing fiction under various pseudonyms while exploring the technical underpinnings of journalism, now serving as a senior software engineer for The Seattle Times.