Radiohead side project The Smile detail debut album, A Light for Attracting Attention

(from left) Tom Skinner, Thom Yorke and Jonny Greenwood
(Image credit: Alex Lake)

The Smile – the English trio featuring Radiohead's Thom Yorke and Jonny Greenwood, and Sons Of Kemet’s Tom Skinner on drums – have finally detailed their highly-anticipated debut album.

Called A Light for Attracting Attention, the album will be released on May 13 via XL Recordings. Helmed by longtime Radiohead producer Nigel Godrich, the LP features strings by the London Contemporary Orchestra and a full brass section comprised of UK jazz greats such as Byron Wallen, Theon and Nathaniel Cross, Chelsea Carmichael, Robert Stillman and Jason Yarde.

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month**

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Jackson Maxwell

Jackson is an Associate Editor at He’s been writing and editing stories about new gear, technique and guitar-driven music both old and new since 2014, and has also written extensively on the same topics for Guitar Player. Elsewhere, his album reviews and essays have appeared in Louder and Unrecorded. Though open to music of all kinds, his greatest love has always been indie, and everything that falls under its massive umbrella. To that end, you can find him on Twitter crowing about whatever great new guitar band you need to drop everything to hear right now.