Volbeat announce new album Servant of the Mind, share destructive new single, Shotgun Blues

Michael Poulsen of Volbeat
(Image credit: Gina Wetzler/Redferns)

Danish rockers Volbeat have announced their eighth studio album, Servant of the Mind, and shared a vintage-Volbeat-style single, Shotgun Blues.

Arriving December 3 via EMI Records, the new outing follows 2019’s Rewind, Replay, Rebound, and will feature singles Wait A Minute My Girl and Dagen Før, both released in June.

As the band’s previous LP dabbled largely in melodic material than heavy, Shotgun Blues will undoubtedly be welcomed by Volbeat purists, as it is driven by the same style of pummeling riffs as heard in their earlier albums, like 2007’s Rock the Rebel/Metal the Devil and 2008’s Guitar Gangsters & Cadillac Blood, and includes some fiery lead work from guitarist Rob Caggiano.

Thematically, the track explores frontman Michael Poulsen’s ghostly experiences when he recently moved into a new home.

“Every time you move into a house, you bring dead people with you,” he says. “Weird stuff happens when I move into a [new] house… it's very otherworldly."

Other concepts explored throughout the album will include the devil taking human form (The Devil Rages On), and the first witch burnings to occur in Sweden in 1471 (Lasse's Birgitta).

As Poulsen explains, he wrote the entire album in three months. “I was in a good place and mood while at home, and had a captive audience of myself,” he says.

“There are a lot of Volbeat signatures in it. If you go back to the first record and compare it to where we are now,” he continues, “you can hear how the band has developed its style, while keeping the signature sound.”

Servant of the Mind is available to preorder now. Check out its tracklisting below.

  1. Temple of Ekur
  2. Wait A Minute My Girl
  3. The Sacred Stones
  4. Shotgun Blues
  5. The Devil Rages On
  6. Say No More
  7. Heaven’s Descent
  8. Dagen Før (feat. Stine Bramsen)
  9. The Passenger
  10. Step Into Light
  11. Becoming
  12. Mindlock
  13. Lasse’s Birgitta


(Image credit: Volbeat)

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month**

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Sam Roche

Sam was Staff Writer at GuitarWorld.com from 2019 to 2023, and also created content for Total Guitar, Guitarist and Guitar Player. He has well over 15 years of guitar playing under his belt, as well as a degree in Music Technology (Mixing and Mastering). He's a metalhead through and through, but has a thorough appreciation for all genres of music. In his spare time, Sam creates point-of-view guitar lesson videos on YouTube under the name Sightline Guitar.