Prepare for war as Yngwie Malmsteen unveils his latest volley of volcanic neoclassical shred fury, (Si Vis Pacem) Parabellum

Yngwie Malmsteen performs with Generation Axe at the Fox Theater on November 7, 2018 in Oakland, California
(Image credit: Tim Mosenfelder/Getty Images)

For the last couple of months, we've had our devil's horns at the ready for Parabellum, the "extreme" new album from neoclassical shred god Yngwie Malmsteen.

Having promised that he'd play "faster than ever" on the album a few months ago, Malmsteen has lived up to his word with the album's first two singles, the title track and the very aptly titled Relentless Fury.

Malmsteen still seems to be keeping his promise with the album's just-released third single, (Si Vis Pacem) Parabellum, too. 

Latin for 'if you want peace, prepare for war,' the instrumental is a six-minute feast of speed, with light-speed palm-muted chugging, dramatic six-string harmonies, and how-does-he-do-it feats of picking skill. In others words? Classic Yngwie.

"(Si Vis Pacem) Parabellum is a piece of great difficulty," Malmsteen writes in the video's caption. "Starting in B harmonic minor, it transposes to D natural major and then into F# Phrygian. It is a natural flow within the chord progression of relative keys and modes. 

"It was very challenging and exciting to perform this piece and I hope you enjoy it as much as I do."

Parabellum is set for a July 23 release via Music Theories Recordings / Mascot Label Group.

You can check out the album's cover art and track list below, and preorder it here

Yngwie's new album Parabellum

(Image credit: Music Theories Recordings)

Yngwie Malmsteen – Parabellum:

1. Wolves At The Door
2. Presto Vivace in C# Minor
3. Relentless Fury
4. (Si Vis Pacem) Parabellum
5. Eternal Bliss
6. Toccata
7. God Particle
8. Magic Bullet
9. (Fight) The Good Fight
10. Sea Of Tranquility

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month**

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Jackson Maxwell

Jackson is an Associate Editor at He’s been writing and editing stories about new gear, technique and guitar-driven music both old and new since 2014, and has also written extensively on the same topics for Guitar Player. Elsewhere, his album reviews and essays have appeared in Louder and Unrecorded. Though open to music of all kinds, his greatest love has always been indie, and everything that falls under its massive umbrella. To that end, you can find him on Twitter crowing about whatever great new guitar band you need to drop everything to hear right now.