Down, Firewind/Ozzy Guitarists Honored at Metal Hammer Golden Gods Awards

Last night, at the ninth annual Metal Hammer Golden Gods, the best-of-the-best from this years metal class were honored.

In the guitar field, Down's Pepper Keenan and Kirk Windstein won in the "Riff Lord(s)" category and Firewind/Ozzy Osbourne guitarist Gus G walked away with the Dimebag Darrell Shredder award.

The Big Four -- Metallica, Megadeth, Slayer and Anthrax -- playing their first ever show in the U.K. at Sonisphere was chosen by the fans as the Event Of The Year, while Behemoth frontman Nergal took home the "Metal As Fuck" award for winning his battle with leukemia.

Not surprisingly, Iron Maiden took home the award for best UK band in their home country.

The full list of winners from the ninth annual Metal Hammer Golden Gods are as follows:

  • - Best New Band - THE DAMNED THINGS
  • - Metal As F*ck - Nergal (BEHEMOTH)
  • - Best Underground - PRIMORDIAL
  • - Dimebag Darrell Shredder(s) - Gus G. (FIREWIND, OZZY OSBOURNE)
  • - Breakthrough Artist - SABATON
  • - Best UK Band - IRON MAIDEN
  • - Best Live Band - SKINDRED
  • - Inspiration Award - TWISTED SISTER
  • - Best International Band - AVENGED SEVENFOLD
  • - Best Album - "Absolute Dissent" by KILLING JOKE
  • - Event of the Year - "Big 4" coming together for first time ever in the U.K.
  • - Riff Lord(s) - Pepper Keenan and Kirk Windstein (DOWN)
  • - Spirit of Hammer - DIAMOND HEAD
  • - Icons - JUDAS PRIEST
  • - Golden God - Rob Zombie

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month**

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Josh Hart

Josh Hart is a former web producer and staff writer for Guitar World and Guitar Aficionado magazines (2010–2012). He has since pursued writing fiction under various pseudonyms while exploring the technical underpinnings of journalism, now serving as a senior software engineer for The Seattle Times.